We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Luncheon and hotel stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Save
You added The Breakers on the Ocean to your Saves list
1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Long Branch, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wedding Luncheon and hotel stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I highly recommend The Breakers to anyone who would like to host a professionally arranged banquet with excellent food and service! We had a wedding luncheon for our recently married daughter and son-in-law. The banquet manager, Terri, was extremely helpful and attentive to all details involved with the affair. The Maitre d and wait staff were top notch, friendly and responsive to our every need. The menu was exactly as described and deliciously prepared by the chefs. The price was reasonable and there were no surprise add-ons. We received numerous positive comments from our guests.
Some of our guests stayed over at the hotel, along with us. Our rooms were very clean, comfortable, and had amazing views of the ocean. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful in every way possible. Every aspect of our experience with the Breakers on the Ocean was positive. I will l definitely return to this first class establishment in the future and strongly suggest it to others. Thank you Breakers, for a wonderful experience that created lasting memories for our family and friends!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    64
    30
    21
    42
See reviews for
98
106
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed here in November. We had a beautiful view of the Ocean. The Hotel was immaculately clean. The Staff was very helpful and friendly ! The Town of Spring Lake is very lovely . It is quiet in Spring Lake in the late Fall and Winter. There are nice Restaurants in Town near to the Hotel which has its own excellent Restaurant! We plan to return again in the near future. I would recommend The Breakers to anyone! The Hotel arranges a discounted Gym nearby for those who are into fitness.
Stephen G. Nutley NJ

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice , comfortable and clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent only one November evening here in an Oceanfront Deluxe King room. With huge windows and a corner location on the fourth floor, we had gorgeous views east and south. The room was not large, but certainly comfortable for two with a king bed, small sofa, table and chairs, flat screen TV and jacuzzi tub/shower combination. Even on a VERY chilly day, you could crack the windows just a bit to hear the waves and still be cozy. There was a wedding on site and we really couldn't hear anything and didn't feel at all crowded by other guests. Lovely rebuilt boardwalk to stroll. Restaurant on site served breakfast, lunch and dinner. We had dinner there--it was good. Would definitely return again for romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Ask specifics if you want a certain view. All rooms have different types of views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tappan, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Five of my friends and I, all moms with young children, stayed here this past weekend. We had 3 rooms between us and all of them were clean and comfortable with a view of the ocean. We each ordered something different for dinner and everything was excellent & reasonably priced. The staff at the restaurant and the hotel were very friendly and professional. After dinner we went to the piano lounge, which was very entertaining.

The Breakers is right across the street from the ocean. It's in a very quaint area and it was the perfect place for a little rest and relaxation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

the building is stately and clean, the room comfortable,the staff uniformly courteous and the meals excellent. The ocean view and accessibility to the beach were a big selling point. I would definitely return here again and again,as have friends and family members over the years.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel. We requested a view of the ocean, which was great and the room was very comfortable and clean. It is an old establishment and the rooms can run from large suites to small bedrooms. We had a Jacuzzi and plenty of extra pillows. There was also a frig and new flat screen TV and cable. There are always weddings on weekends, but they were not loud. Obey the parking rules. Try the Black Trumpet for dinner; it is the next building down the street.

Room Tip: We sure to get a full ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Attended a family wedding at the Breakers. Many family and friends stayed in the hotel. All thought the rooms, service and Resturant food were terrific. Great time just sitting on the porch watching the ocean and family and friends arriving.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.