We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but overpriced” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers on the Ocean

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Spring Lake
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Breakers on the Ocean
Save
You added The Breakers on the Ocean to your Saves list
1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early June & had a nice time! We were there for 3 nights in total and we spent the first 2 nights in a cozy king and the remaining night in a deluxe room. The higher end room was over $100 more a night and I would say it wasn't worth the money! The walls were thin and as a result I had to listen to the person next door snoring all night!! The breakfast in the hotel was very nice & all the young staff (at breakfast & on reception) were super friendly and helpful. We ate dinner there one night and it was nice, however our waiter (older than breakfast staff) wasn't that nice. He had absolutely no interest in serving us and when we asked him about options he would rhyme them off so fast and with no interest that we couldn't really understand him. As a result of this we ate out the other two nights we were there.
Springlake is a nice town, however as a young couple we found there s not really much to do there. It is fine if you want to just relax and chill out!
Overall, this is a nice hotel but it is overpriced, and our rates were low season. I would not pay high season rates here, it just wouldn't be worth it!

Room Tip: Stay in the smaller rooms, they are much better value than higher end rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    65
    30
    21
    42
See reviews for
100
106
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just left this hotel and had to come right back and write this review. Was there for a three day stay and from check-in to check-out everything was perfect!! The staff at the Breakers could not have done more for us. The location is right across from the ocean which is absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to go back :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hoped to find a great beach front hotel with pool.......very disappointing.........dated........very poor customer service........front desk rude.........don't waste your money.......over priced........stayed in the highest end room and was very disappointed. Loud music coming from a wedding........hot unairconditioned hallways......my main problem was the unaccommodating staff....they made no attempt to get us into our room after a 6 house drive prior to a 3 pm check in.......never again

Room Tip: rooms were dated..........
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location for beach wedding however the weather was not on our side that day but the breakers made the most of it for my sis and her new hubby rooms are ok some of us got smaller rooms then others and the prices were too high IMO Room service for breakfast the morning of was prompt The restaurant gave us free desserts for the wedding party the night before. Nice touch but we had time span in between pictures and ceremony so we stayed in hospitality suite only to find we had to buy snacks and bottled water. Not cool. It started drizzling so they brought us golf umbrella due to ceremony being in gazebo then it let loose with the rain. Thank goodness wedding planner that works there was thoughtful enough to set up ceremony on porch next to the coctail hour which was awesome. Dinner and servers were excellent. Room was spacious. Over all. I give breakers. 3-5 stars

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a 3 night stay from July 2 to July 5, 2013. The room was spotless and nicely furnished. Loved the wraparound porch with plenty of seating. The pool was large and clean. It did get crowded but it was July 4! The staff was friendly and polite. I inquired at the front desk about the history of the hotel. They were happy to print information for me. The restaurant was adequate, we only had one dinner there. Ate in town at other restaurants for other meals, which was a short walk. The town is lovely...large well-kept homes with impeccable landscaping. The area around the lake is beautiful, which is also within walking distance. The hotel had a lot of character and "seashore elegance" to it. Only one criticism about the room...I would have liked a coffeemaker in the room. The housekeepers were very good.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe king which was roomy and provided an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Ho Kus, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location (the only reason i gave this place more than two stars) but they need to make some serious updates and changes to this hotel. Everything in the hotel screams "cheap and outdated". Last year we stayed in one of the " newer" rooms that was ok but still not great. This year the room we were put in was one of the older rooms and was very disappointing. Although we had ia partial ocean view, our carpet was worn out in spots, the room was dingy, the tub was stained and there was a dead Beatle next to the bed even though the maid service had just finished "cleaning" the room.

One of the things I loved about this place last year was the porch overlooking the ocean. But even there, there was cheap stained carpeting and cheap mismatched outdoor furniture.

Every staff member we came in contact with did the bare minimum to help us. This is not a well run hotel!! I will be looking for a different place for next year!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The staff is unbelievably rude here. There is nothing to this hotel other than its beach front property. If it is a family run establishment like other reviews state then it's not a family that I want to be part of... Shabby rooms and dripping air conditioning units.
It's a dingy mess and nothing more than a noisy motor inn.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere. There are many other inns in Spring Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Address: 1507 Ocean Ave, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Spring Lake
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Spring Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the charm of Spring Lake’s only oceanfront hotel and restaurant. The Breakers on the Ocean, a landmark fixture in one of New Jersey’s most beautiful communities, is the perfect year-round getaway destination. Originally built in the late 1800’s, the Hotel has been through numerous renovations, all of which have preserved the integrity of the past, while incorporating 21st century amenities. Each of the elegantly appointed guest rooms features a mini refrigerator, cable television (with all HBO and ESPN channels), DVD player, ipod docking clock radio and complimentary high speed Internet access. Most rooms have a whirlpool bath and view of the ocean. Luxury rooms also feature fireplaces and three Tower rooms offer unparalleled views of the impressive coastline and surrounding town. The Hotel is situated just a few steps from the sparkling Atlantic Ocean and Spring Lake’s pristine, non-commercial boardwalk. The Hotel features an outdoor swimming pool, large wrap around porch with spectacular ocean views, a delightful piano lounge and restaurant serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Spring Lake
The Breakers On Ocean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breakers on the Ocean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.