We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mill

The Mill
101 Old Mill Rd, Spring Lake, NJ 07762
(732) 449-1800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 24 Restaurants in Spring Lake
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Ocean Rd.
Westport, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Nice location and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Had a lovely dinner here. Appetizers were delicious and lobster didn't disappoint. Good location for a large group. We were just two, but feel was still warm and cozy even though it's a pretty large spot. Service was prompt and very friendly.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    37
    9
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Horrible Service, pricey food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We arrived at 1:30pm with our 2 kids. We thought it would be fun to sit by the lake while on our vacation. The restaurant had about 2 other parties there - 1 inside and 1 outside. They set a table of 4 of for us outside, but perhaps they could have wiped the seats down of spider webs. I ordered an Arnold Palmer which came to me 100% ice tea. When I asked the waiter, he said " Really? I thought it was all Lemonade?" Then he looked at the 1/8 of the drink I drank and said to me, "Well, looks like it's too late." As if it was my fault! Clearly having a bad day, taking it out on us and didn't he always know - the customer is ALWAYS right. He took the drink and brought me back the same one (!!) with added lemonade to the 1/8 that was missing making it even nastier. We ordered a turkey club (average) - they had no wheat bread!!!, lobster bisque (average) and caesar with shrimp (a little better than average)

To be honest, the food sucked, the service was rude and inattentive considering it was also empty. I bet you could have a better experience at a restaurant in Silver Lake or along the shore. This was NOT worth it.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We went here for dinner with a group of 12. The staff was outstanding and very attentive. The food was tasty but not large portions for the price but you are paying for quality. For example the crab cakes were pure crab meat. Very nice ambiance .

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Ambiance and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Finally had an opportunity to dine at this well-known eating establishment. We had been told in the past by friends that this was for the older crowd but apparently those telling us that hadn't been here lately or I guess it depends on how you define "older crowd." I was defining it as 65 and above. Think more 30's - 60, couples and families alike for dinner; not sure who was at happy hour. There is live music in the bar on Friday nights. A little loud for us but certainly a place you want to visit if that's your scene. I made reservations on Open Table the same day and was able to get them for our desired time. We were able to sit outside which provided a nice ambiance overlooking the lake that was not disturbed by the music in the bar.
The food was not what I was expecting. The menu selections were an up-to-date, a well varied selection of seafood, both cold and hot as well as steak and a vegetable entree for vegetarians. The food was well prepared with huge shrimp in the shrimp cocktail, a tender cut of filet mignon and a delicious lobster pot pie that included two lobster claws with butter. Definitely a place to go to treat yourself. Be sure to sit outside.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The ambiance is very nice; we had a table overlooking the lake. The service is extremely attentive. The appetizers were good but not great. One of our starters were oysters. They came with a watery sauce of some kind, although we asked for cocktail sauce. The sauce was so thin that you couldn't keep much in the shell. The clams casino had too much breading. The entrees, however, were excellent. I had their signature Lobster Pot Pie. When it came with two lobster claws sticking out of the pie I thought that's all the lobster I'd get. But inside the pie was even more meat! If you love lobster and want to try something new, this is it. We will come back when in the area again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mill also viewed

 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 

Been to The Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.