We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway to your Saves list
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4701 Stelton Road, South Plainfield, NJ 07080   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Roanoke, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I felt like my check in experience was a little strange here, so I was a bit worried about how everything else would go. However, it was great. My room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic!! I really only had time to sleep and eat breakfast, but there is a Ruby Tuesday on property. It seemed like a nice place and was in a good location if I did need to stay for a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about Holiday Inn South Plainfield! We will be happy to share the good news with our staff! Please come back to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
27
9
7
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great stay! The hotel was bright and clean. The room was very pleasant. My only problem was with the air vent in the bathroom, it was in need of a serious cleaning, but everything else was clean. The linens were fresh and crisp. All of the room furnishings were updated and clean. The pool was refreshing. It's an indoor pool in a heated room, which made it very cozy to lounge after swimming. Some indoor pools are uncomfortable when you get out and then have to sit in an air conditioned room. Would definitely recommend. There's a Ruby Tuesday restaurant in the lounge, which was great, but there are a ton of places to eat in the surrounding area (most within walking distance).

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor, Verizon store and gym side of the building (Hadley Road, I believe) are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a such a positive review. We certainly appreciate the feedback both positive or otherwise so we may share with our staff and bring any necessary matters to the proper attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Ok so i checked out of the ramada inn. That place was a nightmare. I called the holiday inn and they were fast at getting me a room and it was still at a reasonable price. This place is a thousand times better. The hostess was very nice. Hotel was clean and smelled good. My room was unbelievable. It was so modern. I wish i picked here first vs the other place. This is like heaven and the othe place hell. I dont want for anything here because everything i need is in my room. Sometimes u gotta pay a lil more for comfort. :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review. It is only thru guest feedback positive or otherwise that we can continue to grow as a team. Glad you enjoyed our newly finished renovation of the hotel guest rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angera, Italy
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel is OK, good breakfast and nice rooms. Receptionists very nice and friendly. Good location for shopping and restaurants but ask for don't have a room close the neighbour road ( on the left side of the hotel ) with a lot of trucks parked there, because the noise is a lot. They changed my room and I appreciate it very much.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind response. Our renovation is almost complete. While their seems to be alot of Trucks in our parking lot (they actually account for less than five percent of our overall business) are encouraged to park on the far side of the building so as not to disturb guests on the Hadley Rd side of the building (Red Lobster).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We spent one night here for a sports tournament at Rutgers. Lots of restaurants and stores really close by. The driveway and parking at the rear of the hotel allows easy access to the roads around the hotel. For some reason the transportation dept of New Jersey doesn't like left turns off highways which can make crossing the highway an ordeal.

There was two groups in the hotel, but no problems with any noise. The breakfast buffet was packed, but no big deal. Dunkin Donuts was right across the street.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wendi4701, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind response. We often see sports teams playing at Rutgers staying with us due to how close we are to a number of their sporting arena's. Hope you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The facility is well located however the night staff is not very well trained or capible of making decisions. The rooms we reserved were not available as we checked in and the process took over one hour late at night to check into acceptable rooms. The place was noisy until the early morning hours due to a large tour group that was intent on partying. Security had to be called to quite things down. I will avoid this place in the future.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for your concerns. It is only thru feedback positive or otherwise that we can continue to grow into the best Hotel in the area. If you would like to address your concerns with the General Manager, Eric Albano or myself, feel free to contact either of us. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

I brought 220 people to the hotel with 4 buses. The staff was very helpful and there were no problems parking the buses. I appreciate the kindness of the staff and there willingness to work with our schedule.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We LOVE Tour Groups! Hope you had fun while in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway

Address: 4701 Stelton Road, South Plainfield, NJ 07080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an unparalleled blend of comfort and convenience at the Holiday Inn of South Plainfield, NJ, ideally situated near exit 10 of the NJ Turnpike. Among our wide array of first-class amenities we feature a game room, fitness center and heated indoor pool with a sauna and outdoor sundeck your oasis from the stress and strain of travel. We pride ourselves on offering every guest attentive service with a personal touch to complement our spacious, attractive accommodations. Relax and revive in our newly upgraded bathrooms, which include an expanded shower area with a multi-function shower head, lush terrycloth towels and bath products by Garden Botanika . Every day, wake up to a complimentary hot continental breakfast buffet in our Continental Cafe©, and enjoy delicious cuisine at the brand new Ruby Tuesday Restaurant. When it's time for work, you'll be pleased to find generous work desks, complimentary WiFi in all of our guest rooms and throughout the hotel, a 24-hour business center and professional catering services for meetings and special events of any scale. We also invite you to treat yourself to a stay in one of our executive suites. Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.