We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn, South Plainsfield, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway to your Saves list
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   205 New World Way, South Plainfield, NJ 07080   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save 15%
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn, South Plainsfield, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights April 19 & 20th, 2013. I was very impressed. The hotel is very clean, updated and most attractive in it's decor. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a room with 2 queen sized beds that were so comfortable and the linens and douvets were freshly washed. A chair, table, desk, dressor and large hi definiion TV, plus tea/coffee making equipment was supplied. The bathroom was spacious with shower/bath and a granite vanity large enough for 2 to get ready at the same time. A hair dryer plus iron and ironing board was also supplied. The buffet breakfast included in the stay was most satisfying. Juices, various coffees and tea, bread/toast, jams, honey and peanut butter, fresh fruits, yogurts, mini muffins, danish, english muffins and cereals to choose from. There was also scrambled eggs and bacon. I suspect the bacon was the pre-cooked kind and so thin and overly crispy it wasn't very tastly. But everything else was great. There is also an outdoor pool for summer use and a small fitness centre plus WiFi. The hotel is in more of an industrial area but Ruby Tuesday restaurant is next door along with others. Also Walmart is within walking distance. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
What a nice review. Thank you for taking some time to review our hotel and let everyone know some of our wonderful features and amenities. The team really prides themselves on serving our guests the best way we can. When we get such nice reviews it really keeps them going and lets them know they are doing a great job. Thank you recognizing the team as well as the hotel. We'll hope to see you back again soon!

All the best.
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    61
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
89
44
24
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Golden, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel was a pretty average Hampton. There were some issues with my reservation upon arrival. However, all the staff I encountered were extremely friendly, and the woman at check in spent a lot of time trying to get the screwed up reservation straightened out, which was nice. Don't look for a warm cookie, I didn't see any - but they did give me earplugs in my room! Surprised me at first but did come in handy. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are so glad you got to experience our super friendly team. They really pride themselves on keeping our guests happy and coming back. We added ear plugs to all our guest rooms because some guests are light sleepers and we wanted to let everyone know we are always keeping our guests comfort in mind every day! Also just a hint for when you return...we do do cookies in the lobby on weekdays...it's fresh popped popcorn on the weekends like when you stayed!

Thanks again for your review. Hope to see you back again soon.

All the best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is your regular Hampton, location wise, its not in one of the prominent areas of NJ but if you work location is closeby you may opt for it. Having said that, its sits exactly mid way between 2 major NJ attractions - Manhattan view from Jersey city and Princeton University. Both these places are world class areas and are so unlike NJ so make sure you try them out, the latter being a great place to hang around in the historic lanes of Princeton. From the very basic decor in the lobby, to a plesant staff, to standard Hampton rooms to the regular breakfast fare at Hampton, this Hampton has everything you expect from a Hampton. Its right off 287 as well so go for it if you have to be particularly in that area or if you want to be in a budget, this HAmpton will not disappoint.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for your recent review. We love hearing feedback about the hotel. You pointed out several of our great features...the most important of all is the team. Our team truly enjoys helping and serving our guests and we appreciate you recognizing them. We'll hope to see you back again soon to experience our Hamptonality!

All the best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location! Desk staff was very helpful with regards to suggesting local places to eat. Rooms are large and very clean. Beds are very comfortable. There is plenty of parking available. The breakfast bar was well stocked and hot. Coffee was just as fresh at 5PM when I checked in as it was at 8AM. Wireless internet also worked smoothly. I first tried to book this room for my trip and it was sold out. I enjoy staying here so much that I continued to check every few days before my trip to see if a room opened up and thankfully it did! I will return here each time i am in town for business in South Plainfield! Great job!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Why thank you very much!!! I see you have stayed with us several times and written some reviews. We really appreciate you taking the time to let our guests know a little more about our hotel, especially when everyone is so busy these days. Thank you for mentioning so many of our wonderful features like our always fresh and hot coffee and our fast free WiFi. We'll hope your insight will make more guests want to stay with us and experience our Hamptonality!

Thanks again, All the best.

Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, MD
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This Hampton Inn is quite new. It is in a very convenient location, within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Beautiful lobby. Halls are very clean. The rooms are large, tastefully decorated, big bathrooms. Men will love the 40" flat screens. I can't say enough about the entire staff, so helpful, friendly and courteous. Huge diverse breakfast. Lots of ports and outlets for your electronics.
A big thank you to Adam, the manager, THE BEST man for the job! We were given a bereavement discount without asking.
I would go out of my way to stay here.

Room Tip: You can hear traffic on 287, it is not loud and I slept well, but you could ask for a room on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Oh Thank You for your "4 Star" rating!! We really appreciate when our guests enjoy our hotel as much as we do! Your comments go a long way toward letting our travelers know about all we have to offer. Thank you for recognizing the cleanliness and upkeep of the property, the team takes great pride in ensuring we keep our hotel looking good. I will pass your comments along to them as they enjoy hearing the feedback. We'll hope to see you back again if in the Central New Jersey area.

Warmest Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Our experience was on par with other visits to Hampton Inns. Warm welcome by a knowledgeable staff that was willing & able to answer questions on the area as it had been 20 years since last in Piscataway. Great dining recommendations~Harvest Moon Brewery in New Brunswick was Fabulous! Comfy beds and clean rooms (and I check everywhere!) Overall, it was a lovely place to come back to every evening after taking my 77 yr old mother around her childhood stomping grounds, going from Piscataway, to Highland Park, to New Brunswick, then down to the shore to Asbury Park and Point Pleasant. She was thrilled to revisit her childhood memories, and to see the house she was born in and lived till she married my father. She wants to come back again next year, we will be staying here then.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
It sounds like you had a nice trip down "memory lane". It's always great to come home and re-live old memories. We are so happy you chose to include us in them. Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. Good to hear our restaurant reccommendations worked out as well. Harvest Moon is one of our favorites and a great spot to have a good meal. We are certainly happy to be here for you the next time your back in the area.

All the best,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were having some work done on our house. We decided to stay a night at a local hotel. We chose the Hampton Inn in South Plainfield. I am very happy that we did! We were greeted by Jonathan as we entered the lobby. Jonathan is a very important member of the staff. He is full of ideas of what to do and where to eat. As we left to eat, Jonathan sent us on or way with a very pleasant so long and please drive safe. We came back about three hours and there was Jonathan standing there with a big hello and good night. Overall the hotel was very clean, from the exterior right up to the fourth floor hallways. The room although not as large as I had hoped was quite well organized and very, very clean. Breakfast is another. Food was plentiful, hot and good tasting. Again, Jonathan is a great asset to this property. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone that is visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric M, General Manager at Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for highlighting some of the great features of our hotel and our team. It's always nice when our neighbors stay with us and really enjoy their stay. I'm so happy Jonathan was a big help to you. We'll keep him around a bit longer...ha ha ha!! In all seriousness, he is a huge asset to an already friendly and dynamic team of people. As we share all our reviews with the team, they will certainly be talking about this one! Thank you again. We will hope to see you back should you need us!

Warm Regards,
Eric Mohlenhoff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway

Address: 205 New World Way, South Plainfield, NJ 07080
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > South Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in South Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway 2.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway is located Just 2 miles from Rutgers University and less than 20 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport in South Plainfield, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a free hot breakfast, complimentary high-speed internet access, & a clean and fresh Hampton bed®. Whatever the reason for your visit, keep in shape at our fitness center & indoor pool. Explore many South Plainfield area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway Hotel South Plainfield
South Plainfield Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.