We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CILANTRO SHRIMP! Oh My!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gas Light Brewery-restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gas Light Brewery-restaurant
15 S Orange Ave, South Orange, NJ 07079-1716
(973) 762-7077
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 55 Restaurants in South Orange
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“CILANTRO SHRIMP! Oh My!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a goooooood dish. If you love the taste of fresh cilantro, this specialty of shrimp and cilantro is out-of-sight. My favorite at the GasLight. All of their food is pretty good though...lamb burgers, fried oysters, beef burgers, steaks, sandwiches, mussels... Pretty much can't go wrong. Nice bar, friendly people. The owners, not so friendly..they look mad and mean, when I see them...oh well.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    15
    7
    11
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best area brewpub.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Very good house beers, excellent guest taps, great food and hospitality. Home brewer's club.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Good food - reasonably priced...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

Gaslight has a micro brewery on site.

From the front entrance, you walk into the bar area which reminded me of a pub. We stopped in for a late afternoon lunch and sat at a table near the bar. It appears to be a favorite with the local business people.

Service was bit slow - perhaps working with a skelton crew before the dinner rush.

Two of us ordered sandwiches. One ordered wings. Portions are *HUGE* and tasty. The owner (Cindy) makes all her own breads and most baked goods.

My sandwich was made on the best rye bread ever AND came with an abundance of home made fries which were perfectly seasoned! The pickle was homemade, also.

Son ordered a Reuben which was piled high with fresh ingredients. The meat was delicious. We learned that it is smoked / cooked over several days. It's his favorite sandwich at the Gaslight.

We will always stop in the Gaslight when we are in the area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We went to this place in search of a good bar atmosphere to watch Sunday football and have some lunch. The service was very poor, the waiter even told us that he was the only one working and was running around crazy. The food was average at best, nothing that you would want to seek out again. They do have a good set up for watching games as they have many tv's and NFL Sunday Ticket

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst run place ever- avoid like the plague.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

It boggles the mind why people open a restaurant when they clearly hate dealing with customers. We had no trouble at all but we saw them run a couple with two children out the door. The service was awful and the owner was just nasty. Never again!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gas Light Brewery-restaurant also viewed

 
South Orange, NJ
 

Been to Gas Light Brewery-restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gas Light Brewery-restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.