We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lalibela

Lalibela
261 Irvington Ave, South Orange, NJ 07079
973) 327-4840
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in South Orange
Cuisines: Ethiopian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food, great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We'd been going to a nearby Ethiopian restaurant for years when Lalibela was recommended to us, and have never gone back to either of the other close by restaurants, or back to New Brunswick. Hands down the most flavorful Ethiopian I've ever tasted!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Livingston nj
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Been coming for a few years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Lalibela is a small family run place. The food is so unbelievably good, every single time. Austin is such a warm, welcoming host and we are very lucky to have his wife cooking our food.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Small and cozy with great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Went here on a Saturday night, so it was pretty busy- busy in the sense that the place itself is very small and cozy, and there are a limited number of tables. It is BYO, so we just stood in the back and opened some of the beers that we brought while we were waiting. The only problem with this was that we were just drooling watching all of the tasty plates pass by in front of us. Once we were seated, the service was excellent and all of the menu items were explained when we had questions. I don't remember exactly which specific items we ordered, but we got one of the big shared plates with 4 types of meats/vegetable orders. This was more than enough for 3 people, especially as the spongy bread was very filling. The prices were very reasonable, definitely better than the Ethiopian place in Montclair, and the food quality was also better in my opinion. Its not in a prime downtown location, but everyone drives to go out to eat anyway, so that shouldn't matter. Just look this place up, and give it a try- you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Preferred in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Portions just right. Distinct spices across dishes. Good with kids. Avoid tartare, a bit tough. Prefer to Harrar. Ordered broadly across the menu and was happy with variety and quality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We used to be regular visitors to Lalibela. Used to think of it as one of the best vegetarian Ethiopian fares in the region (there are couple of others in nearby towns).

The food used to be great but the customer service was always questionable. But last night was the tipping point.

On arrival, we weren't even welcomed to the place and shown tables to sit. We ordered the Beyanitu (Veggie Combo) and picked 6 veggie entrees. Two of the entrees had too much salt. Now, we know how they usually taste but on this occasion they were over the top salty. We complained to the waiter who wasn't even remotely interested. We wanted to see the chef and his reaction was worse - told us that's how those dishes were 'supposed' to taste. And he wouldn't even acknowledge the fact that something is wrong with the dish. We took off right then and there.

The chef tried his half-hearted apology when we told them we're not coming back here.

Sorry Lalibela, you lost two regular customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lalibela also viewed

South Orange, NJ
South Orange, NJ
 
South Orange, NJ
 

Been to Lalibela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lalibela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.