We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Pizza Period!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reservoir Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Reservoir Restaurant
106 w South Orange Avenue, South Orange, NJ
(973) 763-1488
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in South Orange
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“The Best Pizza Period!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have been eating at the "Res" since I was 5 years old. I have been going here since it was a single building. It has since expanded to 3 buildings. The owner Bill and his family have been here since the start. He and his family are the best! The food is awesome and the pizza is the best in the country. I now live in Houston Tx and travel home just to see family and eat this pizza!

Get a Tony Salad, Calamari and Chicken Murphy. ALONG WITH A GARLIC SAUSAGE PIE! Then go home with a smile and sleep the night away..... Don't waist time with any other pizza joints just GO HERE. Tell Bill Mike from Houston says HI

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seaside Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great homecooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Food is excellent, portions are large and the staff is extremely friendly. Have the Tony salad....you'll go home and make one yourself! Appetizers are for sharing. Great quality and top value.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Homestyle Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Food is very good-Barbara and Billy have not lost their touch.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Union, New Jersey
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Very Good Old Style Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I have been to this restaurant 6 or 7 times in the last year. I was introduced to it by an Italian friend. It has been in this location for many years but was originally located in Newark back in the 20's and 30's.

Food is typical Italian but not fancy. Just good food . . . . . and plenty of it . . . . . . with fast friendly service. Prices are very reasonable.

Open for lunch until 2:00 (last order but you can hang around for an hour or so if you wish) . . . . . and again for dinner. Located about 2 blocks from the train station, it's a favorite for commuters so you might have to wait a while for a table.

I'll be back again . . . . . and again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD PIZZA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I have gone to the Reservoir twice -- it seems to be a local favorite though i wasn't aware of this. Their pizza is particularly good. It has a distinctive taste and crust.

There seems to often be a line and they don't take credit cards which can be a pain. But this is really decent pizza in an area well-stocked with competition.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reservoir Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Reservoir Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reservoir Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.