We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick

Save Saved
You added Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4230 US Route 1, South Brunswick, NJ 08852   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Brunswick
newark
1 review
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Staff is very friendly when I stay here...usually can get a good rate through priceline.com...clean rooms with full kitchen and needed utensils....a limited breakfast is provided every morning...stongly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    16
    7
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
7
16
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

When my company gave me a long term assignment in the South Brunswick area, I decided to forgo renting an apartment along with the expense of deposits, furniture, utility bills,cable etc. I chose to try Extended Stay. Like most decisions some turn out well and others do not. This decision turned out great. I have found the staff to be courteous, attentiveness, competent and pleasant. Maria,Theo, Carmella, Angelo along with the entire staff have been terrific. I also appreciate the convenience of having access to the laundry room and being able to cook my own meals. Shopping is a walk away. I would be remiss not to mention the recent upgrades especially the high speed WiFi. As a professional I depend on quick access to my company's servers. In a nutshell, I am very satisfied with the quiet and clean rooms. In the end though, we all want competent and nice people in our lives. The staff here has certainly met this criteria.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great hotel lovely staff Carmela and Maria and my family love it as well it's a clean happy place most definitely recommend it . Stayed here for a while and it's comfortable and the fact that it has a kitchen is a awesome since I love to cook . So if you are in the area think about staying here !!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Very Nice Stay Always.
Staff is very helpful & always pleasant. I always stay there when I'm in the area. Maria, Teo, & Tahir always make me feel welcome. And I know that if there was a problem, I could call them & they would make it better.
Happy Customer,
Lisa Y

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. By continuing to provide our valued guests with exceptional value, we know Extended Stay Hotels(sm) will remain the #1 extended stay lodging source in the North America.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

It is home away from home! Quiet, clean, respectful and allows you to make your own meals if you wish. The staff at the front desk are great, they welcome you and take care of your check in and out in a professional manner. I was particularly impressed by Maria. She made sure I received a room in a location that provided privacy and comfort. I appreciated this about her service. I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms but the A/C unit is a lot more noisy than I expected and it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so very much for your nice review of our property. Whenever I read comments like yours, it always gives me such great pleasure. My entire staff strives to make every guest's stay totally enjoyable, and our greatest reward is validation that we've done just that. As a member of the Extended Stay Hotels(sm) family, we are proud to be a part of the premier lodging source for business and leisure travelers looking for a great room at a great rate. We know that our largest asset is our loyal base of customers like you, which is why we are so firmly committed to your satisfaction. We know you have many lodging options in the area, which is why providing you and every guest with professional, friendly service is our priority.

Please know that we would be thrilled to have you again as our guest should your travel needs bring you back to our area. Once again, thanks for all of your very kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I just moved from NJ to Pittsburgh a few months ago and this was our first visit back to NJ. We would've liked to have found accommodations where we could come back again and again (staying 5-7days at a time.) However Extended Stay in So. Bruns will not be that hotel. I walk with a cane or a walker and requested a handicapped room since the wider doorways are helpful. We got to our room (on the second floor all the way down the hallway) and the room and doorways were very small. The only thing handicapped about the room was the shower, which was made for wheelchairs. But we have two little children and neither one of them could take a bath. When I came down to express my disappointment in the room size, the front staff was nasty and said that I never said I wanted a room with a tub and that it's my fault for not booking a bigger room. I then said that we may cut our trip short and she basically said "Sorry to hear that." (Very disappointing response.) The elevators and hall ways were very dirty. There were even cigarette butts in the elevator (I saw the same butts 3 days in a row!) We requested a smoke free room but our room and especially our hallway to our room smelled of smoke. We let the staff know after our first night stay that we would be checking out after our 3rd night (we prepaid for 5 nights.) I asked specifically if I would receive a receipt and also a refund and was told absolutely yes. The night before checkout we even asked the front desk again if there was anything left to do (and that we wanted to check out by 6am or so) and the gentleman said no. However, when we checked out, no staff was available (I waited for 25minutes, calling the number that was posted multiple times) When the overnight staff came to the desk, he had no idea what i was talking about when I asked for a receipt and a refund. He said he could not do that and I would have to wait for the next shift. We had to leave to avoid a snow storm, so we did. I called back and spoke to Carmella who *was* very polite and said YES I would be receiving a refund and a receipt (and the receipt was sent via email.) I have not received my receipt or refund (although I understand this may take one more day) but I am appalled I checked in and out with absolutely no paperwork. Needless to say, our family will not be back at this location and I will be sure to pass the word on to friends and family about this negative experience. Not a family friendly place, in our opinion.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

As this hotel’s manager, I challenge our staff to continually improve the experience of our guests, from the cleanliness of our rooms, to the courteous professionalism of our staff. Unfortunately, in your situation, it is clear that we were unsuccessful in achieving these goals. Given our belief that guests like you are our most valuable asset, this failure is particularly troubling.

Your review has caused us to take a serious look at the systems we have in place to handle our day to day operations and we will be making modifications as appropriate.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I will not forget that my car was stack by the snow in during winter time. I need to sleep in the
hotel so I can work to the next day. I choose the Extended Stay America because It was very near to the place of my job.I met Carmela in the front desk and she help me to check in to my room.Carmela was very cheerful and respectful employee to the guest. I was amaze to the staff and the manager name Maria were very hospitable to me. The room was clean and very relaxing to sleep.The bathroom have nice hot water shower.I have great time to spend the night in the hotel so I will try to come back again. I recommend this hotel to the people who are looking for a
hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, Manager at Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It was very kind of you to take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. Our staff is continually coached on how to best provide professional, accommodating, and friendly service to every guest. It sounds like we hit a home run in your case!

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick

Address: 4230 US Route 1, South Brunswick, NJ 08852
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > South Brunswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in South Brunswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Extended Stay, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay America Princeton / South Brunswick Hotel South Brunswick
Extended Stay Monmouth Junction
South Brunswick Extended Stay
Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick North America - NJ

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Extended Stay America - Princeton - South Brunswick, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.