We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good..but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mare Seafood Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mare Seafood Restaurant
393 Davidson's Mill Road, South Brunswick, NJ
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very good..but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I agree with many of the others that the food is very good to excellent. Ambiance not so great, (who cares, I'm not there to pick out wallpaper), but the service is helpful and extremely pleasant. Here's the problem..as of the 1st of the year they have a liquor license, AND raised their pricing. (Perhaps to pay for the license? Poor idea.)
To stay around, they will have to lower their drink pricing and/or their entree pricing, which go up to $34.50 a la carte. I hope adjustments are made, I would like to see this place be successful, but I think the overall tariff is a little steep.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
silver spring
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Great meal in a hidden location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We debated a long time as to where to eat and am I glad we came with Mare. It's a bit hard to find - ok, more than a bit. Even the GPS got lost. But what a great meal we had.

Mare is an Italian restaurant and it's a seafood restaurant. It manages the blend very nicely, while also offering more traditional Italian meat dishes. The strip mall setting and the modest dining room don't do justice to the wonderful and equally wonderful service.

I had the seafood stew. While the seafood itself was not outstanding, the sauce was incredibly good. My dining partner had the haddock and enjoyed it very much.

Wine was reasonably priced and service was great. In fact, our server, Ingrid, ranks amongst the best servers at any restaurant.

Definitely the place to eat in South Brunswick.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal Off the Beaten Path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The Beaten Path being Route 1. Even had our GPS stumped. But the search was worth it. Mare is a modest restaurant almost invisible in a small strip plaza. As its name reveals, it is Italian with an above average emphasis on seafood. Two of us dining and each of us sang its praises all the way back to our Route 1 hotel. Or maybe it was the wine singing, there was a reasonable selection of wines from which to choose. One of us dined on their signature haddock, the other a shellfish offering with pasta. Extremely well prepared and tasty. Desserts were also worthy of the additional calories. On the service side, It almost seems unfair to single out our server, Ingrid. As much as we appreciated and enjoyed her, all the neighboring tables also seemed to be bonding with their respective servers. An ideal evening in the South Brunswick/Princeton resion of New Jersey.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe Twp, NJ
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Place for Seafood in NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were highly recommended to Mare by a friend and were not disappointed. Top notch service, fresh fish and excellent quality. The Haddock was fresh and delicious. I had chicken & shrimp francese. The chicken did not have to be cut with a knife, just like butter. My husband had Zuppa de Pesce and received a very large and cooked to perfection dish with plenty left over to bring home. In fact, we all had enough food left over to bring home. The gelato is imported from Italy and of superior taste and quality. The lemoncello gelato was too good made with real lemoncello.
A totally great dining experience, I can't say enough great things about this cozy, user friendly place and homey atomsphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife had the corn n shimp soup which was excellent n she loved the haddock which she finished the next night.I dont eat fish so i had the steak which came out raw which was sent back n two minutes later came back out RAW i dont understand u cant cook a steak in two min but the taste was good otherwise Service was great but the cook only knows fish

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mare Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mare Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mare Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.