We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Martino's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Martino's
212 West Main St., Somerville, NJ 08876
908.722.8602
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 71 Restaurants in Somerville
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Horrible experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Saturday, March 2, 2013, we made a reservation for 6 adults and 1 baby at 6PM. We were so excited to go because it was the 1st time and heard really good reviews. When we arrived we were greeted by Mr. Martino who asked if we had reservations and told him yes, he looked in his book and said "no you don't" we thought he was joking but he wasn't and continued to speak but this time in Spanish calling us "tramposos" which means that we are trying to be sneaky. He told us to hurry up cause he's busy and told one of the busboys to take us to the back. We ended up being seated by the restrooms all the way in the back where its a room with 4 tables. At first we felt special because we thought it was a private room. We were seated for two hours and all we got was water and sodas and two appetizers, the third appetizer never was brought to us. Throughout those two hours they kept serving all the patrons in that room besides us. We kept our cool because we are educated people and decided to leave money to cover the water and soda. Never again will we visit this restaurant as our rating is a big fat zero! Be warned .

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    35
    9
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
whitehouse station
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cuban food delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Whether you go for the lunch buffet or for the full menu, this place will not dissapoint. You are greeted by Mr. Martino himself who oversees everthing. From good service to some very good Cuban specialties. Come hungary, BYO and have fun.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frenchtown, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pros and cons”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

A group of us went there at 3:30pm on a Sunday afternoon. Martino greeted our table and had a great energy and was very entertaining. At one point the music was cranked up and he sang and did a dance which was fun. My friend has a gluten allergy and Martino had no idea what she was talking about. His son finally came over and took our order and was able to suggest options for her. We did not receive our 2 appetizers until 4:30. We did not receive our main entrees until 5:30 even though other diners who had come in after us were served. I ordered a chicken dish and the chicken was overcooked and dry. We asked for water 1/2 was through the meal and it never came and we were not offered dessert and instead received the bill. The decor was just ok. I doubt I will eat there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Que rico!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Visited Martino's for the first time after hearing great things about it. On a Saturday at 8pm, it was crowded but we got a table without a wait. The service is a little confusing. I wasnt sure if we had a server as many different people came to the table. The owner, a very sweet and lively older man took our order. The food was phenomenal. No complaints. Very affordable and great portions. You cant beat BYOB. The only thing that bothered me was that there were no table cloths on the table. Even paper covers would have been nice. But that isnt important. The food is what I'll go back for.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Great little Cuban restaurant with excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Thjs small corner restaurant in downtown Somerville is a gem! The food is excellent and they have the best black beans and plantains around. Meals are a al carte, but the portions are large and most meals come with rice, black beans, and plantains. The food is authentic and made with loving hands. If you are lucky, Martino himself will come and chat or play a tune on his guitar. BYO and parking is available in a lot across the street. Reservations advised. Their chicken and garlic with cilantro is outstanding as are all of their dishes.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martino's also viewed

 
Somerville, NJ
 

Been to Martino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martino's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.