We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gluten Free in Somerville” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scampi's Seafood Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Scampi's Seafood Restaurant
198 West Main Street, Somerville, NJ
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Street
New Jersey
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gluten Free in Somerville”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We recently learned that we needed to avoid gluten. As difficult as this was in the beginning at home,dining out has its own challenges.
We've eaten at Scampi's a number of times during our pre-gluten free days and wanted to try it again under this new circumstance.
Their web site offered a separate menu but when we got there we were told that was no longer the case.
However our waiter,Hector, couldn't have been more helpful. He understood the restrictions and helped us with selections that #1 fit the diet and #2 were fantastic. We couldn't have been more pleased.
Scampi's is now on our list of go to places.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    6
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
“won't be back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Mediocre food and poor attitude of staff makes it a waste of an evening out. There are better restaurants in Somerville. We won't be back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Not Fresh Not Good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were looking for fresh, well-prepared seafood and thought we'd try Scampi's on a friend's recommendation. We had a reservation (not needed) and were greeted promptly. The atmosphere was good-- clean, eye pleasing dining room, with tables spaced well apart for some privacy. We ordered a salad from the specials menu, an appetizer (wasabi shrimp) that we shared and for our entree we ordered Cod Oreganatto. The salad (dubbed Main Street) was lacking the good stuff (walnuts, mozzarella, craisins) and heavy on the mixed greens. It was just okay, nothing special. The Wasabi Shrimp appetizer was very good, but was brought to us while still eating the salad -- very irritating to me. We no sooner finished both, and the main entree was brought to the table. The vegetables were fresh, but heavily buttered (so beware) and the Cod had a layer of Oregano atop that was about 1/4 inch thick across the entire fish. To say it was overpowering, would be an understatement. It was barely edible. The fish was mushy soft and unappealing. Needless to say we won't be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

we tried this place twice since it seems popular. The food was just so-so One time bland, another too salty. Slight attitude also

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Food, Good Service, Average Atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

I was actually surprised when I saw the poor reviews. My husband and I tried this restaurant about 1 month ago and had such a good experience, we just went there again. Both times the food was really fresh and delicious. My salmon was perfectly prepared, as was the Fisherman Platter my husband ordered. The mozzarella pearls on my salad were so fresh, it was a joy to savor. Service was good, it could be improved if they had someone stationed in the dining room. Atmosphere is very casual, not really fond of the decor, especially the salmon colored walls... It is expensive, but the quality of the food was worth it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scampi's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Somerville, NJ
Somerville, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scampi's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.