We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Somerset

Save Saved
You added Candlewood Suites Somerset to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Somerset
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   41 Worlds Fair Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Somerset
Woodstock, Georgia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I just stayed one night for business here. The rooms are very nice. The service both when I checked in and out seemed a little slow but overall pretty good place to stay for business. The only downside is that it doesn't offer breakfast, but that's a feature of the Candlewood suites and it's the only place I could find available for me to stay. I have stayed in another Candlewood suites and it was not a good experience, this one was very nice compared to the other one I stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
9
8
10
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I ordered a non-smoking room but the room stinked cigarette and the mattress was not good at all. But the kitchen was nice with the stove, refrigerator, microwave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Somerset, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Dear Nayana L,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Candlewood Suites around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding the kitchenette amenities.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on the smell of cigarette in your room. We will address these points. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was my very first experience at The Candlewood Suies chain. The lobby as nice and clean and staff was friendly. Very spacious rooms as well as a good veriety of appliances and dishes in each room. Big TV. Satelite was horrible, but it did storm during my trip. Really not much to say but that i was very pleased with the layout of the hotel and the cleanliness too. I will be recommending this hotel to many family and friends when we visit the area again. Keep it up!!

Room Tip: Get a king suite. More room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is half way between Newark and Trenton which is convenient for my business needs and $20 or $30 per night cheaper than hotels near either city. Everything works well and the rooms are more spacious than a regular hotel. Staff were quietly unobtrusive. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed here a few weeks ago and the place was a mess as they renovated. Looks great now. New TV in the room. Kept VCR which is a big plus a lot my older movies are on VCR tapes. Air conditioner worked great which is nice since I've had a lot of problems with hotel AC lately. Located next to a shopping plaza with a good Asian restaurant. Price was more than reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

This is where I stay for when I am working at Rutgers. It is a very easy trip in to campus. The beds are very comfortable and the desk/workspace is extra long. They have the cupboard as well but prices are a bit steep.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

Very comfortable, clean, nice quiet area, great employees and service. Death in family brought us back to NJ and as we had stayed here in the past we were pleased to stay here again. Just one little issue - we found some nails and screws within parking spaces in the back of the hotel that may have been left there by contractors.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Candlewood Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Somerset

Address: 41 Worlds Fair Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Somerset 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our new Comforts of Home™ Bedding Collection. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located in the business district of Somerset, NJ. We are an all suite property, the perfect place for your next stay and a great alternative to a corporate apartment. Each spacious suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your over sized executive desk with free high speed Internet access and two separate phone lines - check email and talk on the phone at the same time. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD player and VCR. Work off some stress in our fitness center or visit our Candlewood Cupboard. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices. We offer complimentary use of the washers and dryers in our on-site laundry facilities. The Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel is located near major interstates and 25 miles from Newark Liberty International Airport. Minutes from downtown New Brunswick, trains to NYC, Rutgers University and shopping malls. Convenient to major companies such as Sanofi-Aventis, Cardinal Health, Avaya, Phillips Lighting and J&J. We are also within the city limits of Piscataway and Bridgewater and adjacent to Basking Ridge and Warren Townships. Pet Friendly-restrictions and fees apply- one pet per suite- call hotel directly for additional information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Candlewood Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Candlewood Somerset
Somerset Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.