We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Business Hotel in Somerset, NJ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Atrium Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873-4197   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Enjoy Some Family Fun!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Somerset
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The Perfect Business Hotel in Somerset, NJ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

I recently stayed at the Doubletree Hotel in Somerset, NJ on business. Check-in was quick and pleasant. Doubletree offers the tastiest chocolate chip cookies to guests during check in. What a nice treat after a long day! I regret that I do not remember the woman’s name; however, the staff at the desk was very cordial and accommodating. I was made to feel welcome.

The room was clean and quiet, two very important traits for my overnight stays. I appreciated the coffee maker and the quality coffee pods. Beds were very comfortable.

I am pleased to report that my Overall experience was Extremely Satisfying, and I will likely stay at this Doubletree again, when I am in New Jersey.

Room Tip: The hotel is well situated away from the main road. The grounds and my room were quiet during the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSomerset, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
The Signature Doubletree Cookies can be hard to resist and we’re delighted to hear you how much you enjoyed the treat! We appreciate your kind words about our front desk staff and always look forward to making our business travelers feel completely welcomed and comfortable. We look forward to you staying with us at Doubletree Somerset Hotel & Executive Meeting Center again on your next trip to New Jersey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    148
    112
    75
    31
See reviews for
84
54
32
277
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, MA, USA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

I stay in central Jersey on a regular basis--already 36 nights this year--and my general home-away-from-home for the area is the Doubletree Somerset.

There's plenty of parking at the hotel, free, but late arrivals may need to hike a bit to get to the front desk. The greeting at the front desk is friendly, the famous Doubletree cookies come out piping hot and, as a Diamond, they generally give an additional, generously packed snack box filled with goodies (Doritos, Special K bars, M&Ms, etc.) for snacking. I'm told by management that they'll soon have a healthier alternative box for those who find chocolate too tempting.

There are some wear spots in the hotel--the elevator doors have seen better days--but the rooms are clean, have recently upgraded flat screen TVs and have the newer Doubletree bedding configurations. The breakfast--free for HHonors premium members--has decent diversity and the on-site pub keeps a rather lively atmosphere and is staffed by some extremely friendly bartenders.

My only real complaint is the in-room climate systems, which can be rather noisy, but this varies from room to room.

All in all, it's one of the best properties in the area and recommended to those business travelers who prefer consistency, efficiency, comfort, friendly staff and reasonable pricing.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSomerset, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
It is a great compliment to be your home- away- from home! It is a pleasure to hear you enjoyed the comfort of the new Sweet Dreams® linens and other amenities. We will be discussing the climate systems with our maintenance team to see if we can lessen the noise. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Doubletree Somerset Hotel & Executive Meeting Center with some warm chocolate chip cookies and treats!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Advance, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Super friendly whether at the front desk, in the dining room or breakfast. Best gym I've ever experienced on any hotel grounds. LOADS of good aerobic equipment and weights, both machines and free weights. Check in, eat meals at the hotel then go downstairs to burn off the cals. Rooms comfortable and as always at a Double Tree, big fluffy pillows and towels, and hot baked cookies at checkin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSomerset, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 12, 2011
We truly appreciate the great review and kind words about our staff. It seems like a perfect plan to check in, enjoy a meal and then work it off in the gym! We hope the next time you are in the area you will stay with us again at the Doubletree Somerset Hotel & Executive Meeting Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Recently stayed at Doubletree in Somerset, NJ and a repeat positive experience. The hotel provides you with a snack box and cookies on arrival, along with complimentary internet service and bottled waters. The hotel is very nice for the price and much better than other hotels in same price range.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSomerset, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay again with us as well as our famous chocolate chip cookies. We hope you will stay us at the Doubletree Somerset Hotel & Executive Meeting Center the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This could be a good property if the level of service was better. Stayed there several times over 6 months and stopped going there as even though it was the same staff checking me in, they did not make me feel welcome, didn't greet me as a diamond hilton member, didn't assist with my request for a certain type of room. So there may be good rooms in this property, but I didn't see them. The fitness center is big. there is an indoor pool, a nice bar, a restaurant, a store. But there is much better very close by so why stay there?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSomerset, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
We regret that you did not experience the level of service you anticipated as a Diamond Hilton member. Feedback from all our guests is an important part of improving our service, so we appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts. We are sharing your review with management to share with their teams on the importance of good customer service. Thank you for your review of the Doubletree Somerset Hotel & Executive Meeting Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

I stayed at the place on a business trip. The front desk and general service staff was courteous and helpful. I stayed there for 15 days but a shorter stay at this place would be much better appreciated.

The room was comfortable but the service left something to be desired (Maybe a smile). The restaurant had decent food and the rooms were comfortable and clean.
The hotel offers a host of services like free parking, health club, gym, Jacuzzi, swimming pool, laundry etc and all are good. The hotel has two restaurants which serve decent american fare. The shuttle service offered by the hotel is a boon especially as in the US public transport is non-existent and cabs are expensive.

For business the hotel offers a multitude of conference rooms and halls for events.

The place is a great one for shorter stays with family.

Not to forget, the Double tree cookies at the reception are one of the best you can get. Amazing.

Room Tip: Book in advance as rooms fill fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTSomerset, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
The Doubletree cookies are such a favorite with our guests and it’s great that you recommended them in your review! Did you know that the Doubletree Cookie is celebrating its 25th Anniversary? We’re glad that our front desk staff & service staff was helpful, but will make sure management shares with them the importance of a smile. It is sincerely appreciated that you shared the many amenities we offer our business travelers as well as those visiting for a vacation. Thank you for your review. We hope you’ll visit the Doubletree Somerset Hotel & Executive Meeting Center again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

Been traveling to Central Jersey for the past couple of months, and this hotel has been home almost every week.
While there isn't much to do in the area, the hotel itself is fantastic

Pros:
Excellent service from front desk
Nice restaurant
Fun pub!!
Spacious and clean rooms
Not sure if this is handed out to all guests, but Hhonors elite guests definitely get an awesome "Amenity Kit" - goodie bag with over 10 different snacks :-)

Cons:
Room service is expensive considering the hotel location!!
Not much to do in the area

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGuedouar, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
I am so happy to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and memorable service. I also appreciate the detailed, extensive review. Not only is it great to share your words with my team here, but I'm sure it will be valuable to those travelers looking to stay with us. It was a pleasure having you.
Hope you have a chance to visit us again.
Regards,
Sam Guedouar, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 200 Atrium Drive, Somerset, NJ 08873-4197
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 16 sprawling acres, our beautifully renovated hotel offers all the amenities you'd expect from a sophisticated urban hotel - plus indoor and outdoor pools, basketball and tennis courts and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Somerset Executive Meeting Hotel Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Somerset Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.