We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Davidson Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Somerset
Leesburg, FL
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

We have recently discovered Comfort Inns in some recent travels. This reservation was a last minute one, so I figured this CI would be like what we stayed before. Well, our room was the "inn" not the "suite", which, I'm assuming,was what was available. Room was small...bathroom was tiny and need of an update. Room was clean, staff was helpful and friendly. No refrigerator in room, although the girl at the desk said she would see if they had an extra. No microwave. Breakfast was ok....eggs, waffles, juice, donuts. Convenient to I 287. Know that in the future to look for a "Comforts Suites"to get what I've been used to.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    8
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
2
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stay in Somerset fairly often because we have family there. Our usual go to site was booked so we ended up at the Comfort Inn. We arrived and got to the room and found that the desk was covered in water (likely from the coffee maker which apparently had not been cleaned by housekeeping). Because it was late and we did not feel like moving we just used towels and cleaned it ourselves. The bathroom was tiny, you could barely turn around.

Got up in the morning to go to breakfast. When we got there (about 1/2 hour before it ended) pretty much everything was gone. The waffle maker was broken, there were no more packages of cream cheese, there were no more little egg patties. They did bring more egg patties but that was all. The eggs were terrible when they did come and were not warm. There were kids running around and while there were parents present they were not paying any attention to these wild kids.

The following night we left the window open and were awakened at like 4 AM because the garbage trucks came and they were outside our window.

Breakfast the following morning was just as bad. this time there was no coffee for half the time. The waffle machine was working but people just left their waffles in there and let them burn. Same crazy kids running around, one dumped something that they were carrying on another patron.

I will say that the front desk folks were very nice and there was plenty of parking. Because we are in the area often and have tried several hotels, we will NEVER come back to this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in here and was a bit concerned that this was going to be another chain lodging. Though it is part of a chain it was very nice. The rooms were very clean and orderly, the a/c worked perfectly. Though they were sold out you would never know it there is plenty of parking and big enough inside that you do not notice it was sold out. Compared to the other hotels in the area ie: the ( hotel somerset ) the comfort inn was a palace. From a very very friendly staff, to great rooms, to a spacious parking lot. I have stayed at a few other hotels in the area and for my money anytime I am in the area I am going to stay here, it is a few bucks not much more but still a few bucks more than some of the others but once you stay here you will agree it is a great value for your buck. The only thing I did not like was I was only here for 2 nights I would like to have stayed longer

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Special Thanks to Alin and Bryan the 2 desk clerks that smiled and did their job very well! Kudos! The hotel was quite clean, the room was very inviting and comfy! Lots of space,... the window even opened for some fresh air! The shower water pressure was the best! and oh,...the 24 hour coffee was a great treat! My husband and I and our 2 'hardest working house cats you will ever meet' had a very pleasant visit at the Comfort Inn in Somerset NJ! Thank you very much for the service, the free breakfast food and the free Internet Service! Well Done!
Karen & Gregg McCandless,...and, Waffle the cat and Princess Tirzah too!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I just spent 5 nights here while he was at a workshop. The staff were very friendly, the hotel was very clean, and the grounds are attractive and well-kept.

It's a standard Comfort Inn in terms of appearance and amenities (but is 5 stories and a step up from the one or two level roadside place).

The bed was comfortable, the internet connection (free) was pretty good, shower was nice and powerful, and there was a comfortable chair in the room.

Breakfast was included in the rate, and this was the only downfall. After one morning, we did not take the breakfast again. Scrambled eggs were powdered (not uncommon in the free chain hotel breakfasts). There was only 1 toaster for the whole breakfast room (and it required 3 or 4 toasting cycles to achieve any sort of browning of the bread or bagel). There were make-your-own waffles (in blueberry flavor or plain), cereal (3 types), yogurt, bread for toast, bagels and creams cheese (peanut butter and jelly were provided also in case that was wanted instead of cream cheese), hardboiled eggs, and some fresh fruit (which wasn't very ripe-looking).

While this is a decent spread for a free hotel breakfast in the US, there were some freshness problems. The bread was a bit stale. I got some milk for my cereal, and it was all I could do not to spit out the small (mercifully!) sip I took. The milk was so spoiled that it tasted like sour orange juice. My husband reported this to the breakfast attendant who looked skeptical -- if only he had tried it himself!

At any rate, barring the breakfast, we had a good stay. There is a Ruby Tuesday restaurant across the street but no other food immediately nearby as the hotel is in sort of an office park location. Restaurants are fairly close by, however, if you have a car. The price of the hotel was $99 a night plus tax and seemed very fair for the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Overjoyed with our stay June 27-29 for the Jehovah's Witness International Assembly. The general manager Luis Orellana was friendly and professional as well as the rest of the staff, including maintenance and dining area. Room was excellent. Close to shopping plaza and I-95. Will reccommend to all. Very kid friendly with computer access and a pool.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel and found it to be a great value, particularly for a hotel in NJ. The room was well appointed and clean. The location was convenient to I 287 which made for getting around all areas of the state easy. The only downside was that when the AC was not running the room had a funky smell, once the fan was running for awhile all was OK. Overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 255 Davidson Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 hotels in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn & Suites in Somerset New Jersey is a great value priced hotel when traveling for business or leisure to central New Jersey. The hotel is located just minutes from Rutgers University, Garden State Exhibit Center, The Palace and historic New Brunswick. The hotel is just one hour from NYC by train or car and also nearby numerous restaurants, shopping and golf.The Comfort Inn & Suites Inn Somerset NJ has complimentary hot breakfast, WI-FI, fitness center, outdoor heated pool and hot tub, business center and plenty of bus parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Choice Hotels, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.