We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent price, lame breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Somerset

Econo Lodge Somerset
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge Somerset to your Saves list
Econo Lodge Somerset
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 Easton Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Somerset
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Decent price, lame breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our room was quiet but dated. The breakfast was really lame. The desk clerk was friendly and helpful The hotel needs refurbishing. The restaurant was closed. The desk clerk did recommend other restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, Owner at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We would to thank you for your comments We are always looking to improve the hotel . Very truly..your.Steven Pins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    26
    9
    4
    7
See reviews for
19
7
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in the Econo Lodge Somerset, NJ on 1 July 2013. Reviewed it on TRIPADVISOR prior to making the reservation. We found all the recent comments for this motel to be accurate. There were some very small problems but overall it was a nice quite motel which is kept in very good condition.

The little problems were:

1. The sink in the bathroom would not hold water making shaving a small problem. But that was not a big deal.

2. My wife heard a high pitched beeping all night long. Being hard of hearing it did not bother me at all. Never could detect the source of the beeping but suspect it was the smoke detector.

3. The TV sound had a buzz or low level static. It seemed to occur when the A/C unit cycled on. But then we didn't watch much TV so that was not any problem. We did report this to the front desk.

We paid $71 + tax for a nonsmoking king bedded room for a Monday night stay. We used the Choice Hotels booking site which guaranteed lowest price even after 30 days after the stay. Discovered the price on other sites was $79 + tax.

We did not use the indoor pool but it did look very nice. Overall the property is well maintained.

We would stay at this motel again.

Did not partake of the free breakfast.

Room Tip: Use Choice Hotels site to get lowest guaranteed price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking your time to share your comments.We are addressing those issue with our staff to make sure this situation does not happen again.We will be very pleased if you allow us to serve you again Very truly yours Steven Pins.GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield Gardens, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I stayed with my family from 06/29-06/30 and I found the hotel to be clean, the staff was very kind and the continental breakfast was well stocked(but it's continental and I knew that when I booked it). The huge pool was great for the family, the gym was large and fully equipped. The mall and most restaurants and shopping are not more than a mile a way. But the highlight is the cleanliness of the hotel and Steve and the staff at the hotel. Customer service goes a long way, my family and I felt welcomed from the time we stepped through the automatic doors. Thank you Steve and the staff at the Econo Lodge, Somerset.

Go Boston Red Sox!!

Room Tip: First floor was fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments .We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. hope to see you back at the econolodge on your next vacation. Very truly yours steven pins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Econo lodge here is a very good place to stay. And the manager, Steven Pins, is, I would assume, one of the best. For those who might complain about this motel - go stay somewhere else. Better yet stay home. Yours Truely, Kenny L

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments We strives to provide our guests with the highest standards and service . Thanking you again StevenP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've been at the hotel for several weeks and have had a very pleasant and efficient stay. The management, the front desk, the housekeeping and maintenance staff are all very helpful and friendly. I like the business services and the pet friendly policy. Everything is kept clean and neat and in good working order. The breakfast is very nice. I will stay here anytime I'm in the area and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive response. We strives to provide our guests with the highest standards of service and accomodations. Very truly yours .Steven.P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

stayed at hotel in april while visiting my grand children, Was presently surprised, room nice and clean, good variety of food for breakfast, but most of all the manager and the front desk clerk went out of their way to make it a pleasant stay for my husband and I. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, General Manager at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comments.We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Very truly yours . Steven P GM .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Avoid this hotel at all cost …

There is nothing called service over here. I spent around 6 days in this hotel and had a tough time on the following:
• At least on 3 days the bedsheets had not been changed,
• At least on 2 days I found the toilets had not been cleaned properly by the housekeeping staff,
• The carpets in the foyer / corridors seem to be filthy,
• On two days there was no egg in the continental breakfast,
• The bathroom flush was not working on 2 days,
• Housekeeping staff are very rude – when I asked for a laundry bag she told me that the hotel does not have
• Fridge in the room does not work

Sadly when I went and complained the manager Steven [--], he was never there to help. Strangely he always wears a grumpy face and never seem to want to help. I wish he had apologized and got things in order. As a matter of fact he was even rude with me twice. Econolodge would be better placed if it does not have leaders like Steven [--], who neither wears a smile nor wants to help a guest in trouble. My advise to the management of this hotel is that if they want service, leader like STEVEN [--] should go….

Also, when I wanted details about taxi provider from Jan, she said that she did not have them. Do you believe a hotel would not have number s of taxi providers..

However, other employees like Marie, Rick were quite helpful… However, there were times they said that they cannot decide as the manager had to make all the decision.
So please avoid Econo Lodge is you have any option..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steven p, Manager at Econo Lodge Somerset, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
its sad when a guest stays in ahotel for 6 days and never complains about anything .then when he checks out days later comes up with all this nonsense that everything was wrong its also sad when he has to start throwing names around and never contacted anybody about all these so called problems gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Somerset

Address: 1850 Easton Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Somerset 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Econo Lodge Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.