We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sophie's Bistro

Sophie's Bistro
700 Hamilton St, Somerset, NJ 08873-3273
732-545-7778
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 103 restaurants in Somerset
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We tried Sophie's Bistro because we like to try all local places. The food was okay, the wine was expensive. The level of price was more consistent with a place located in NYC. We did not feel the food and ambience made the price of the evening cost effective.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    51
    17
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Fine French dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The setting is not jet-set like but, what counts, the food is. I live in San Diego but for me a visit to good ol' Jersey is worth just to savor once again Sophie's superbly authentic escargots that, alas, are hard to find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sophie's is the type of place everyone should be able to walk to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at Sophie's on many occasions. When you combine the careful attention to the menu, food preparation, bar, ambience, relaxed atmosphere, and Peter connecting with almost every single patron....the place is wonderful! Each time I'm in the area I make every effort to get over to Sophie's.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect French Bistro in New Jersey USA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Great food -- relaxed & friendly atmosphere (What a bistro is all about...) Consistent and authentic fare. Solid wine list - with added surprises. It might be the best value in the area. Peter Mack, the host and owner, knows how to ensure customers will enjoy their meal. The staff is friendly and they know how to pay attention without hovering.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

good value, nice change of pace, not what you would expect, from the location

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sophie's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sophie's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sophie's Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.