We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff makes up for hotel shortcings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta ES Suites Somerset

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta ES Suites Somerset to your Saves list
Sonesta ES Suites Somerset
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   260 Davidson Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The staff makes up for hotel shortcings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We arrived very late . The first room we were given was in very poor condition . Mind you this is after a 14 hr car ride with 4 teenagers. My huband went to front desk and they switched out room. The next day after speaking with the mgr he apologized again and sent a nice goody bag to our room. They let us use a common area to host a family get together. The property itself is a great location the room layout awesome . The property needs a big makeover. But the staff goes above and beyond to acommodate.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel! We are sorry that you experienced an issue with your first room but we are pleased that we were able to move you to a better room and try to help resolve the issue. We are also very happy to hear that the staff was able to accommodate your needs and make the rest of your trip enjoyable with us. As you said, our rooms have not been updated yet but we will have our renovations on our property soon and we hope that next time you stay in Somerset you will be able to see the newly renovated Sonesta ES Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    18
    2
    12
See reviews for
45
8
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The property needs a redo in the suites, but if no one tells the staff that something's wrong, they might not have the staff to actually do quality checks. CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN. The MOST important to me. There were things wrong in the kitchen and bathroom, and while I was out the next day, they came in and fixed and replaced things. Then, they thanked ME. The staff I dealt with, James at the front desk and JD, are outstanding in their field. Lucille, the Dining Room lady = awesome, above and beyond helpful. See you again soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor if you have lots of heavy luggage. Only one building seems to have a handicapped ramp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property for your stay with us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments about the members of staff that were able to assist you during your stay and we will inform them of their performance so that they continue to treat guests with the highest level of customer service. In terms of the rooms, as you have said they are dated, but we will be getting renovations in the coming year, some possiblly starting as early as March of 2013. We hope that you will come back to stay with us and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and it was fantastic. It was not a luxury hotel, but a great home away from home and the price was super affordable. I love that they offered free wi-fi, which was a necessity for us. The rooms were spacious and we loved having the kitchenette and dining room area. Most of all the room was clean! We recently stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Philadelphia, which was four times the price and significantly filthy. If you're visiting the Somerset area and you're not looking for a luxury hotel, but you need something that provides comfort and the amenities of home, Sonesta ES Suites is a great choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for your review of our property! We are very pleased that you had a wonderful time staying with us! It is always nice to travel and have a full size ktichen to cook and space to spread out in our suites! Also, since your last stay with us, our WiFi network was completely overhauled and upgraded, so the connection quality and speed are much better while still remaining free to all guests! I hope that we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Our stay was fantastic from the minute we arrived. We were there early and the staff went out of their way to get us checked in. The rooms were spacious and very clean. Pool area always had fresh towels. The barbecue area was well maintained. Garbage was always changed. There was always fresh coffee inside the lobby. There was a variety for breakfast and everything was always fresh and hot. During our stay, the staff was always friendly and accomodating. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments! We are very appreciative and are very happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us! We are glad that you and your family were able to get in on our free daily breakfast. It is always great to have a have breakfast available when traveling. We hope that next time you are in the Somerset area we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This hotel was very average. Nothing impressive about it, and nothing very bad about it. It was in a decent location, and was mostly clean. There was a beetle that I had killed that was found crawling on the floor. It might have either came in with us or lived there…you can decide that for yourselves. The pull out couch was decently ok, and so were the beds. Free wifi though….

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us but are sorry that your stay was only average. We strive to have every guest’s stay be exceptional and we are sorry that during your stay we did not live up that expectation. We hope that you will come back to stay with us again and that we can have your stay with us be better than expected!

Best regards,

Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I hardly know where to begin. This hotel should be CONDEMNED. The Sonesta company bought this hotel and continues to rake in revenue under a "3 star" rating, while renting rooms that are FILTHY, OLD, CONTAMINATED and in general state of disrepair. Checked in and noticed filthy sofa, which we covered with a sheet, only to wake up and discover we had slept on a URINE-STAINED (HUGE stain) mattress pad and mattress, get sick off drinking iced-tea we made with ice out of their FILTHY ice tray, and were never able to secure door because security latch was broken. Carpets, counter-tops, even lamp shades - everything was BADLY stained. When we called to report problems to manager "Maria," she INTERROGATED over the phone as to why we hadn't called before, and her staff came to room, HARASSED and ACCUSED us, REFUSED to inspect the conditions in the room, and in true fashion of those who deflect their own problems and refuse to take any responsibility, they called the police, who ended up empathizing with us. Save yourself and send a message by steering clear of this property. Good reviews are pure delusion. For our part, a law suit is in order.

Room Tip: If you're unfortunate enough to arrive at this property, your car would be the best place to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
I know Sonesta management offered to refund your stay, I am sorry you were not willing to take us up on that offer. Sonesta recently began managing this hotel and you can be assured we will be making continual improvements in the future.

Best regards,
Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Note: This hotel has been bought out by Sonesta. We booked it before the by out through my priority rewards club as a Staybridge Suites Hotel. The buy out occurred in August of 2012.

Stay was the end of August 2012

The facilities were nice(very nice). Room was in good shape with exception to the shower head that sprayed everywhere but out of the shower head. Maintenance was able to resolve the issues a couple days into our stay.

Front desk was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good - they provide a variety. Met a diverse group of guests, most were pleasant and non-intrusive.

The only concern that I have was the large group that stayed that was unruly(someone told me that the police had been called on them 3 times one night). Seems to me, if you have rules, enforce them. The staff should not be afraid of the guests, nor back down from enforcing the rules. If they don't want to follow them, kick them out. With customers like that group - your facilities will be destroyed in no time. Just my observations and opinion.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael_somerset260, Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed the room and the breakfast with us. It is nice having a large room when traveling and having a free hot breakfast! We are also happy to hear that we were able to resolve your issue while you stayed with. We are sorry to hear that some of the large groups that stayed with us while you were here caused issues for you. We have passed your notes along to our staff to make sure to look more carefully for any guest that is breaking hotel policies and to inform the guests more swiftly of their actions so that they won’t continue. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,
Sonesta ES Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Somerset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Somerset

Address: 260 Davidson Avenue, Somerset, NJ 08873
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somerset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Somerset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Somerset 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sonesta ES Suites in Somerset NJ is now open! Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is located minutes from New Brunswick, Piscataway and Bridgewater, NJ. This Somerset NJ Hotel is situated directly off RT 287 North and conveniently accessible from I-95, NJ Turnpike and the Garden State Parkway and close to major corporations such as Johnson & Johnson, Aventis, IBM, AT&T and Lucent. Sonesta ES Suites Somerset is minutes from NJ Universities, including Rutgers & Princeton. Come stay with at this Somerset NJ Hotel when visiting Commerce Bank Ballpark, Garden State Exhibition Center, NJ Convention Center, & Bridgewater Mall. New York City is accessible by train, also close to the NJ Shore area. Each suite offer private baths with each bedroom & fully equipped kitchens. All rates include a complimentary full, hot and cold breakfast buffet, as well as our evening reception, Tuesday-Thursday. Free High Speed Internet DSL access available in all suites, convenience store, exercise and complimentary laundry facilities are all available on property. We welcome all guests who are at least 21 years of age to our hotel. We require a valid photo id and major credit card at the time of check-in. Cribs are available, advance request advised. Pet Policy: We accept 1 pet per suite with a one time, $150 non-refundable fee. Certain breeds & weight limits apply. Proof of vaccinations required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Somerset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staybridge Suites Somerset Hotel Somerset
Somerset Staybridge Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta ES Suites Somerset, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.