We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great new chef, excellent food & presentation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stage House Tavern

Stage House Tavern
1719 Amwell Rd, Somerset, NJ 08873-2746
732-873-3990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: THere are two Stage House Taverns = same ownere. One in Scotch Plains, NJ is on tripadvisor, the Somerset one is not.
Somerset, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great new chef, excellent food & presentation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Party of 4, each selection delicious, beautifully presented. Always enjoy the specials! Will return oftrn as posdible. Also great drinks /bar.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    68
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have been there two years with my family, for the Thanksgiving Buffet. The food and service were excellent!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of our favorites!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a great restaurant for families, couples, girl's night out, etc.... We really enjoy the outdoor patio, which is open when the weather is decent. The food is very good and decently priced. The service is always good. The people who bought this place from its previous owners had a great vision and did a nice job making this an enjoyable place for dinner and drinks. The only negative is that the place can be quite loud since the ceiling is high and the room is wide open.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Good value, large portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Although big, open, and noisy, the food is excellent and portions are generous. The early special before 6 PM is an even greater value. Not intimate or atmospheric, but the perfect place to go before a show at Villagers Theater which is just around the corner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food and loud atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had an excellent dinner (short rib and the pork rib-eye) in the bar area. The service was good and prompt. The place was packed but we didn't wait long for our food. The prices were reasonable.
It was a bit loud because the entire place is one big open room but we would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stage House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Stage House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.