We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and loud atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stage House Tavern

Stage House Tavern
1719 Amwell Rd, Somerset, NJ 08873-2746
732-873-3990
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Somerset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: THere are two Stage House Taverns = same ownere. One in Scotch Plains, NJ is on tripadvisor, the Somerset one is not.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great food and loud atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had an excellent dinner (short rib and the pork rib-eye) in the bar area. The service was good and prompt. The place was packed but we didn't wait long for our food. The prices were reasonable.
It was a bit loud because the entire place is one big open room but we would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    68
    25
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We came here a couple of times in the summer and enjoyed sitting outside in the lovely patio area, enjoying some drinks, great food (free BBQ!) and listening to the live entertainment. In the colder months, sitting inside the cozy dining room is nice, and our meals were delicious. One of our favorite places to go!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Average food but good atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I wish I had gone on a more lively night (football game or live band) but it's definitely an improvement over what it was before under different ownership. I got a chicken sandwich with avocado and pepperjack cheese and chipotle mayo and I'd get it again but it didn't blow my doors off. Service was good. Wide range of options and prices. I'll definitely go back at some point.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place but the food isn't worth a visit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This place had many incarnations and some of them had decent food but the latest version, while nicely redone and decorated, isn't serving any food worth ordering. We had a large group and ordered a number of different dishes. All edible. And that is the best I can say about it. Not worth a second visit.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Dependable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

They are always very good and make an effort to market their restaurant. They refresh their menu. Good choice from a sandwich to a steak dinner.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stage House Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Stage House Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stage House Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.