We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fishermans breakfast special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breakfast Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Breakfast Shop
910 Bay Ave, Somers Point, NJ 08244-2310
609-601-2100
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 62 Restaurants in Somers Point
Restaurant details
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“fishermans breakfast special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Good breakfast and nice staff. You want to go back to enjoy breakfast with a friend again and again. The place is simple and not fancy. The food is good and sometimes the specials are a good change.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!!! Make a B-Line there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our table of 4 ate their plates clean. The potatoes are delish - I never eat the potatoes. The pork roll, egg and cheddar sandwich had so much flavor from the grill. Eggs benedict was perfection. pancakes sated the appetite of a very hungry 22 yr old.
We had to wait a 1/2 hour, but it was well worth it. We had never been there before but I'm so glad we decided to wait it out. Any time I'm in OC it will be my breakfast place every time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently good food, great atmosphere, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I almost hate to let people know how good this place is but I will. I've been coming here for years. It's my preferred place for breakfast whether I'm alone, with friends, or need to have a breakfast meeting. The omelets are really excellent and the food is all made individually. Nothing sits around.

The owner actively manages the place and puts her heart and soul into running a great restaurant.

The prices are very reasonable which makes it easy on the wallet.

An added bonus is the location. Right on the bay on Bay Avenue. So you get a great view while eating. I spotted a KingFisher sitting on one of the pilings! So it's even a birdwatching spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Local spot. Good food decent prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This seems to be a real local type spot, has a family run feel to it. Food was pretty good and prices reasonable. Atmosphere quaint. Good to eat here and support the local businesses and not the big chain restaurants.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“God food on the water”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Breakfast Shop has very good food and service right on the water overlooking the marinas and bays. It's is an old fisherman's place that has been around for decades, so if your looking for an up-scale touristy place, don't come here. The eggs benedict was very good, hollaindaise was not the best I've ever had, but very good for a quick morning breakfast in an atomoshpere that is is reminiscent of an old fishing town in New England. My husband had a Hawaiian omellete of onions, ham, mozzarella cheese and pineapple, also very good. Be prepared to wait for a seat during high-season but there are plenty of benches outside by the water so the wait is scenic.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breakfast Shop also viewed

Somers Point, NJ
Somers Point, NJ
 

Been to Breakfast Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breakfast Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.