We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Caroline's by the Bay

Caroline's by the Bay
450 Bay Ave., Somers Point, NJ 08244-2604
(609) 601-0880
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 62 Restaurants in Somers Point
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Started off with a miserable hostess. No welcoming greeting, just "come on" and led us to our table, left menus and was off. Waitress was nice but did not have her act together. Waited 20 minutes for soup and salad. The salad was ok but the soup was questionable. It was supposed to be burgundy clam chowder but I saw no sign of clams, only mystery chunks. We were also apportioned one dinner roll apiece. Our request for additional rolls was met 15 minutes later. Now on to the entrees for which we waited and waited. My dining partner chose scallop and shrimp italiano. It was ok but a small portion. My entree was supposed to be lobster and crab imperial. Still can't figure out what it actually was. There was a scintilla of lobster and no crab. It can best be described as a burnt stuffing. Contained no cream sauce and was dry as a bone.

We will not be returning. Even the coke was off. Thankfully I had a groupon so I paid about $35 for this horror.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    7
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect "at the shore" dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Always good specials & friendly service. The deck is off the beaten track & overlooks the bay offering cool breezes. Very reasonable prices (for the area) & offers a more quiet area on the deck along with a more rowdy atmosphere by the bar.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Typical Shore Bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Caroline's is great for a cold drink after a long sail. It's a typical shore community bar near the water. Lots of locals mixed with seasonal people.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Carolines is a great stop all year round. With the bar for a good beer and some baseball to the family friendly resteraunt, it grasps everyone's needs! With new owners , better food, and great welcoming service and staff, this is a great stop. It has a bad rep and the bar does get wild after 10, however. New owners made it a family oriented atmosphere for a great lunch dinner on a nice summer day or night. !

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean View, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and wait staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Went there New Year Eve. It wasn't that crowded in the dining room, but the bar area was hopping. Dinner was excellent and above what we where expecting. Our waiter was also excellent. He was very attentive to our needs and helpful with our menu selection. After dinner we hung in the bar area and had a very good time listening to the DJ and play pool. It was a nice crowd and a great time!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caroline's by the Bay also viewed

 

Been to Caroline's by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caroline's by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.