We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aweful!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Passport Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Passport Inn to your Saves list
Passport Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Macarthur Blvd, Somers Point, NJ 08244   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Certificate of Excellence 2014
PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aweful!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

We found this hotel online and contacted the establishment directly. We were looking for a nice quiet area just outside of Ocean City. My partner and I requested a room with a King size bed and it was guarenteed to us. It had a pool, and wasnt that terribly far away from Ocean City. The distance was the only bright spot. When we arrived at the hotel, the owner took one look at my partner and I and said there were no King size bed rooms available. After being in the sun all day (we didnt arrive at the hotel until late as agreed with the owner when reservations were made) and facing a long drive home, we decided to overlook the ignorance, however we were still charged for the room with a kings size bed. Then I was given attitude because when the owner swiped my card it didnt not work at first. Comments were made to me about my card being no good...it was an Amex card with no limit. As it turned out, it was the hotels card machine that wasnt working properly. The room was dirty, and smelled funny. The walls were paper thin and we had very roudy neighbors. We went to the pool, which was a decent size, however; it was a bathtub for practically every seagull at the jersey shore. We went back to our room and headed for home, cancelling the rest of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    42
    10
    1
    6
See reviews for
33
24
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calif.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2007

stayed here for a week mid october .Clean , quiet , nice diner minutes walk . in sight of the water . easy in and out . I will stay their again .True about language , but I had no problems .

  • Liked — price , location
  • Disliked — older , showing some age
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

Stayed here a couple times in the past few months. Room is clean and the price is right at $49.00 a night in the off season. Room, has small fridge, microwave and free hbo. Shower pressure is great (low water pressure is a pet peeve of mine.)

The only issue I have with them is that they are VERY firm on the 11am check out. They will call at 11 on the dot and every ten mins afterwards until you are out. So if you plan on sleeping in, make sure to make arrangements with the front desk the night before. It's will cost you a few extra dollars but it's worth it not to be startled out of your sleep by the "riinggggg - riinnnngggg!!!" of the old school phone.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

Decent place to stay if you want to be 10-15 mins from Atlantic City but don't wanna lose all your cash on the room. Owners do not smile or speak english. Credit card receipt was hand written. Room was clean. Free HBO. No shampoo or conditioner. Nice bed, clean sheets. Parking in front of your room. Great price! Best price I could find and I looked for hours. Cool place to go with friends when you are young and have no money.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — owners not english-speaking
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Passport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Passport Inn

Address: 6 Macarthur Blvd, Somers Point, NJ 08244
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Somers Point
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Somers Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Passport Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Passport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Passport Hotel Somers Point

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passport Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.