We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK a little expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baia Restaurant

Baia Restaurant
998 Bay Ave, Somers Point, NJ
(609) 926-9611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Baia Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 62 Restaurants in Somers Point
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Shore Rd
Description: BAIA offers a unique waterfront dining experience, featuring a creative Twisted Italian menu, exciting cocktails at our three bars and live entertainment 4 nights a week, all with a spectacular bay view! Offering an early dinner and late night menu, in addition to lunch and dinner 7 days a week. The principle staff consists of Ed Bonsignore, Jr. (Executive Chef and Owner of Samantha's in Jupiter, Florida) and Sean Weinberg (Executive Chef and Owner of Alba Restaurant in Malvern, Pennsylvania) combine their unique styles and flavors to create Baia Restaurant in Somers Point, New Jersey. Our synergistic and creative dining experience you will enjoy at Baia is based around an exceptional staff which will strive to provide the highest level of food and service to every guest. Baia is a great spot to have your next special event, dinner or luncheon, please contact the restaurant directly for large parties.
New London, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Just OK a little expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Ate here last week. The weather was pouring rain so could not east outside on the deck at the outdoor bar. We did eat on the covered deck. Service was good, food was good not outstanding. I would go there again but eat at the bar. They have a great view. Food was pricey and drinks about $9 each. The bill for two people with tip about $88. Try it and make up your own mind.;

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    23
    19
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So much potential, BUT don't waste your $.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great location, great view and huge deck. The server was pleasant, but the service very slow. Menu looked interesting although prices were high. The real test was the food....my veal dish tasted like the grease was very old and the glaze very greasy. The bread was very well done and hard as a rock. Could have been much better. With so many GREAT restaurants in town, spend your time and money elsewhere. After spending too much on a lousy meal they then try to charge you a cover to walk out on the deck. Really?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

It took a really long time to get our food, even though we were there at 9:00. Items on the menu were kind of strange. We found our meals, even the chowder to have way too many herbs and spices. The snapper was very good, but the mahi mahi with crab topping was terrible. The topping tasted more like Pepperidge Farm bread stuffing you would eat on Thanksgiving, you couldn't even taste crab. The steak was dry and tasteless, certainly not worth $40. I got 2 different glasses of wine, neither tasted like what I ordered - I think they just gave me what they had open. We go to Ocean City on vacation every few years, but we won't be going back here to eat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Incredible location. Servers are great. Menu just doesn't seem to hit the mark. I found it frustrating finding something to order. Everything we did order was very good. Menu lacks items that 'we must go back for.' Expensive drinks served in cheap plactics cups is unacceptable.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Nice Outside Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We loved sitting outside on the deck but we didn't like that there were different menus and you couldn't order off of a menu if you weren't sitting in that area. I also expected a lot more seafood.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baia Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Baia Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baia Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.