We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was my 4th time to visit & stay at the Colonial Inn & Barn. I have never been dissatisfied when visiting and staying here. This is such an awesome place. This trip was a 'girls' trip and they absolutely loved it! The innkeeper, Tracy, went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable. Tracy and her staff are wonderful. I've never had a bad experience here. The room & bathroom were very clean and so was all the bedding. We love all the little specialty shops and many will give you a discount if you stay overnight on the premises. The breakfast basket the staff prepare every morning is a wonderful idea and so delicious! If you haven't yet been to this place you have to plan a trip here. It is a gorgeous property! This is Smithville's best kept secret!

Room Tip: The beautifully refurbished Barn is for families and or friends. The Colonial Inn is best suited fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Owner at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Darcy! Thank you for this fabulous review! And thank you for mentioning my name...LOL it makes me feel like a rock star. Glad you and the girls had fun, a lot of fun. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms and bathrooms. We feel the number one way we can show respect to our guests is with clean rooms. The village is the same way...rare you will ever find a piece of trash on our grounds!
The breakfast in the basket is so fun and nothing makes me happier than seeing our guest wondering along the cobblestone walkways swinging their baskets! Some times it its the simplest things that bring our guest such pleasure.
I shared this review with all my staff they felt great pride, thank you for your kind words and for returning to the Colonial Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
106
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, PA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Absolutely wonderful place to visit and our stay so far has been fantastic. So much to see & do right here in Smithville. We stayed in the Barn section & couldn't be happier with our room. Will definitely plan to return very soon....only 12 miles from Atlantic City, too!

Room Tip: All the rooms & cottages are unique. Each room offers a different experience. Don't be afrai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We enjoyed our overnight stay in the "Cottage" room. Cozy, but spacious and private accommodations. The Village shopping area is quaint and easy to walk through. Many families with strollers and dog owners. Nicely landscaped. Boardwalk-esque area around small lake with paddle boats to rent. Pizza, bakeries, ice cream, carousel. Kid friendly. We actually walked through the Village at 9:00 p.m. at night, after dinner at the Smithville Inn. It is lit up at night, very quiet, no one around. Really enjoyed that! Unfortunately our dinner at the restaurant was not our favorite, though we enjoyed the piano playing and drinks! Next time we will have dinner off-site and perhaps try the Sunday brunch instead. The Cottage room is in a building next to the Barn. There are no other rooms in the Cottage and it is away from the Village area, so it is quite private. There is a hotel laundry room below on the ground floor, but we did not hear any noise from the employees. The kitchen area was spacious and the bath nicely tiled and updated. Left our windows open all night for cool breezes! Really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: Colonial Inn website does not supply photos for some reason of the "Cottage" room. Attachi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in a Leeds room. It was very clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast muffins and coffee was great. The Inn is in the Historic Smithville Shopping Village. There was 60 little cute shops. There was a nice restaurant, a pup style and a pizza place. Bake shops too! It is a quick drive to Atlantic City for casinos,boardwalk and beach. The only complaint was that the ducks quacked early in the morning LOL.

We went for a little couple getaway but it is great for families too. Merry go round, choo choo train and little boats.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Owner at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review and for letting people know what a wonderful time you had at Historic Smithville. It is such a charming village with so much to do, a place were memories are made. NOW about the ducks...I have spoke with them and well they are still misbehaving! Holding up traffic, starting trouble and prancing around like they own the place. LOL ..:O) But We will keep trying to talk some sense into them.
We will look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Very nice hotel. We found it by chance and were really impressed. The staff is very friendly and competent, excellent price value ratio, rooms were large, cosy, well equiped and impeccably clean, good breakfast, nice environment with a lot of entertainment. We enjoyed and spontaneously extended our stay.

Room Tip: all rooms are nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Just got back from our third annual February trip and stay at The Colonial Inn. As usual, we were not disappointed. In fact, this was the best trip yet! Stayed 2 nights is the new Wolf Suite (Room 205) and it was more than amazing. Room accomodations are wonderful. Just a short walk from the main inn, but have your own private "cottage" with private entrance. Entire suite was so fresh and so clean. The staff at The Colonial Inn sure know how to make a getaway perfect. Of course we will be back next year to try another room, but it's going to be hard to top the Wolf Suite!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We had been to Smithville before, but just for the day. We had said we should come back and stay the night. We stayed this past Saturday night, just for one night. We arrived right around 3pm and were greeted by 2 very friendly women in the cafe. Check in was very easy. Then we went to check out our room (Barn 312) and put our things away. Right after that we walked back over to the cafe for the afternoon snack of cookies (chocolate chip shortbread - DELICIOUS) and coffee. It was just what we needed since it was freezing outside and snowing a little bit. We also filled out our card of our choices for breakfast the next morning. I think all the towne shops were open but the village was pretty deserted that day most likely because of the frigid temps. We relaxed in our room for awhile. We loved the room. Very cozy and private - it was around the back part of the barn with a little sitting area outside on the porch. I wish it was a little warmer so that we could have sat out there and enjoyed the beautiful view. But inside, our room was gorgeous. We loved the country decor, the built in daybed and the super comfortable bed, pillow & linens. Everything was very clean too. We ventured out later for dinner at Fred & Ethel's Tavern. We were very impressed with the food but the service was a little slow. Overall, we absolutely cannot wait to come back again. But book soon, they told us that just about every Friday and Saturday is booked for the rest of the year :( You might luck out and be able to get one in the off season though. We want to go back when it's a little warmer and we can enjoy the shops and the scenery.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with kids, the barn is your only option. Choose 310, 311 or 312 if you are loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Address: 615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.