We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy air conditioner” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
old bridge
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Noisy air conditioner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked room #203 for two nights through a special promotion by Living Social for our 36th wedding anniversary. We checked out after only one night. The air conditioner was so loud we couldn't get any sleep at all. In addition, the outside lights illuminated the room even with the blinds closed. When we checked out the next day, the staff never asked why we were leaving after only one night even though we paid for two. The room and shower were nice and the bed comfortable. But the air condioner and light shining in the room made for a bad combination if you're trying to get some sleep. We were very disappointed especially since we were marking the occasion of our anniversary.

Room Tip: Don't know about the other rooms, but my advice would be to not stay in #203 if you want to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Congratulations on your 36th wedding anniversary! I am so sorry to hear you were not pleased with your room. I would have been happy to move you to a different room but understand that after not having a good night sleep you may just wanted to get home to your own bed. Upon reading your review I sent my maintenance staff over to investigate and please know that another couple will not be spending a sleepless night in room 203, you have my word. The staff is careful to be friendly but not intrusive and did not ask why you were leaving in the thought that it may be a private matter. Perhaps I should review this policy as it lead you believe that we did not care about your experience here at the Colonial Inn and we truly do.
If you ever decide that you would like to give the Colonial Inn a second chance, perhaps you enjoyed the 60 shoppes and multiple restaurants. Maybe you would return for the quaintness of the village and relaxing nature of the cobblestone walkways and footbridges. I would like the opportunity to show you that the Colonial Inn can be a relaxing respite a getaway with restful nights and funfilled days. Mention this review and your experience in room 203, we will be happy to discount your mid week stay and upgrade your room. The Colonial Inn is a "special place" to so many people, I would like to think we could be for you as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    29
    12
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
110
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed one night in mid-March at this nice, clean, and comfortable small inn located in the Smithville Village. Check- in was pleasant. We enjoyed complimentary hot beverages at the adjoining cafe during our stay. The room was well kept. It had a steam shower and sunken tub. Toiletries were nothing special. The Leeds room had a king bed and plug in fireplace with light bulb. The view was cute overlooking small lake. Sixty shops are in the village, most of them open. There were several options for eating from casual fare to dinner at Smithville Inn. We had tea and cookies (complimentary), so we opted out of a planned dinner there. The breakfast was a basket of goodies that we picked up at the cafe and ate in the room on a small table. I think for $150 per night, there should be a hot breakfast served. I am sure the price is okay for the summer months, but business would be better with lower rates for colder months. I think this place is more suited for warmer months as it felt too quiet there during a cold March stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are individually priced and pictured on the Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairstown, NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Bought a two night getaway from Groupon and upgraded to a suite (Room 202). I have been to Smithville village before and found it to be less of an historical experience and more of a shopping experience so I was a little leery about staying in this type of atmosphere. We arrived on Sunday, 3/24, and were escorted to our accommodations, which turned out to be in one of the old buildings that were brought in from around south Jersey and refurbished to create the "historical" Smithville Village. Our room was on the second floor which was reached by an outside staircase. The room was attractively furnished with a sitting room and a bedroom which was quite large and both rooms had faux fireplaces that lit up with the flick of a switch. Sounds kind of corny until you've had a couple of glasses of wine and then it seemed just fine. The bathroom was a good size and included a large bath tub and a separate shower stall with 5 shower heads(think of all the fun you could have with that). This unit abuts the back of the property so you have some privacy if you sit out on the deck where you enter the room. Other windows look out on the village complex. The staff were very friendly. All in all I was pleased with the accommodations. Since this was the off season the stores all closed between 5 - 6 PM and after that it was pretty much a ghost town. The street lamps came on at night and most of the buildings had tea lights on as well with canned music softly playing in the background. It was a strange experience walking around the village at night with no one else around.

Room Tip: I did not see any of the other rooms, but, would recommend room 202 or 201(which was on the first fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castine, ME
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We returned to the Colonial Inn for a quiet get-away. The staff is very attentive and really does everything possible to make your stay pleasant. After we checked in, we were treated to a hot drink and cookies. We had a problem with the room we were in, and we were given an upgrade to a nicer room. The owner and staff could not have been more gracious and hospitable. We really appreciate all of their efforts!

Room Tip: It's great to stay in the main building with a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The Colonial Inn has outdone themselves again! My husband and I took a belated Valentine's long weekend to The Colonial Inn. This year we stayed in the Leeds Room (last year we stayed in the Great Bay Room). The rooms are so beautifully decorated and immaculate as usual. The staff at the Inn takes such unbelievable detail to cleanliness. And the beds are so comfortable with both the mattress and linens. We didn't want to leave! The shortbread is to die for which is served each afternoon from 3pm-5pm with coffee or tea right outside your room. If you are not a coffee or tea drinker, just ask at the onsite cafe for whatever you like and they will be more than happy to accommodate you. After checking out yesterday we asked Tracy if we could possibly see any of the other rooms for options on a future stay. Tracy was more than accommodating and she gave us keys to whatever rooms we wanted to see (that were unoccupied, of course) so we checked out a few rooms around the property (Johnson Suites and the Cottage). We will definitely be back in the future for another couples getaway!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

There are so many good things to say, I don't even know where to start!

Our absolutely stunning but oh so homey room, the hospitable staff, the amazing hot cocoa, shortbread and Gingerbread Almond Biscotti (!!), the fabulous village...wish we were back there right now!!

The front desk offered us wine glasses and a corkscrew upon checking in, which we thought was very nice of them. We brought our own and didn't need to take them up on their offer, but a nice perk and very thoughtful!

We were also offered cookies and a warm beverage at check-in, which was much appreciated. We were just stunned by our surroundings and just sat in the cafe beaming. Even though we got there hours early, our room was ready and we were given our key right away. We were also given a map and a list of specials and discounts that the shops offer to guests staying at the inn.

I should mention that every single time we went to the front desk, every staff member treated us like family. Everyone was warm, welcoming and accommodating. They really went above and beyond.

We stayed in The Johnson Suite 201. The bed was so comfy, the rooms were so warm, the tub and shower were delicious, the front porch and back patio so comfy! Super clean and welcoming, too. And QUIET! We never wanted to leave, seriously!

The continental breakfast baskets of muffins or croissants, coffee or tea and yogurts were fine for us. It left us room for lunch or a snack and then a nice dinner. The only thing that could make breakfast better is if they delivered to the room, or at least to the rooms that aren't in the main building. (We are NOT morning people!) (Little touches like the cutlery, napkins, bags of butter and jams/jellies in the basket really made a difference. They really think of everything!)

The complimentary snack in the afternoons really hit the spot. The cookies are delicious, especially on the day they had cranberry shortbread! The hot cocoa is so, so yummy with whipped cream and a chocolate drizzle. It's nice to stop in while out shopping or walking and have something comforting in a warm and comfy setting.

Only rooms in the main building & the cafe have free wifi, which was ok with us, but just a head's up for anyone who that might be important to. We did want to watch movies and we brought a laptop with us, so we went down the street to the Redbox outside of CVS.

Our room had a small refrigerator, a coffee maker and a microwave. Also there was a basket of pre-measured coffee filter packs, tea bags, sugar/sweeteners, napkins and stirrers that was refilled as needed by housekeeping each day. There were 2 Colonial Inn coffee mugs there for us to use. The coffee isn't the greatest, but enough to get you going until you get to the front desk for your breakfast!

We had a living room with 2 chairs, a side table, fireplace, tv (in a closet) and a little food prep area (in another closet). That room also had a table with two chairs. It had a door that opened to the back patio/deck with chairs. Also our front door, which led to the front porch with rocking chairs and a table.

The bedroom was large with a king bed, end tables and lamps. 2 large closets with hangers and shelves. There are no dressers with drawers, so the shelves were where we slid our folded clothes. The tv is in one of the closets. There's also a fireplace, a chair with side table and a rocker. The bed is extremely comfortable with lots of pillows. The bedding is very soft and pretty.

The multi-jet shower was enjoyed by my husband and I absolutely loved the jacuzzi tub. We did have a problem with our hot water, but that was rectified. Something to note: while the rooms have heaters (plus fireplaces in ours) that get very warm, the bathroom has no heater, so you need to leave the door open at all times not in use and even then it's still a little chilly in there.

I loved the black makeup towel so much that I purchased one to bring home. The other towels are kind of scratchy, so I would bring my own next time. This was surprising since the bedroom linens are so luxurious.

Even though our room was in the village, right next to the soap shop, it was very serene and quiet. There are blinds and curtains that make your rooms feel very private. There was some noise our first night that sounded like the people upstairs were jumping up and down heavily for awhile, but they checked out the next day and all was super quiet after that.

I've read that some people find the village/shops "corny" or whatever, but we truly felt so at peace there. Most everyone we met was so down to Earth, so laid back and welcoming that we were just overwhelmed. It's definitely not a fast-paced place, so if you're looking for that, it's not for you. This is a place to RELAX, to not be in a hurry, to really enjoy your surroundings, the views and serenity. To just take your time and do things at your own pace, so different from a typical day in our lives. Maybe it's different in the summer, but in the off-season it's lovely. Walking though the village in the evening with some warm mulled wine from Tomasello's was really nice before settling into our room for the night. (We bought a couple bottles and placed the contents of one in the carafe of the coffee maker for a little while.)

I just can't say enough great things about The Colonial Inn. Customer service is top notch. I almost didn't want to write a review because I didn't want a bunch of people to find out about it, but they deserve the recognition! :)

We can't wait to go back and plan on making this our "go to" place at least once, hopefully twice, a year.

Room Tip: Keep the bathroom door open to get heat in the bathroom! Heater is noisy, but you can turn it off a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamong, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I just spent our 24th wedding anniversary at the Colonial Inn - January 2013. We keep coming back. Tracey (owner) is one of the most gracious people I have ever met. When you step into the cafe, you suddenly feel at home. Who else welcomes you with a hot drink and the most delicious shortbread cookies! This year we decided to purchase the sweethearts package for our room. We were welcomed with beautiful roses, champagne and beautiful rose curls. It made our anniversary day a little bit more special. We have already booked for the light show in December. My husband and I were trying to decide where to go for our 25th anniversary and once we walked into the Inn, we knew where we wanted to stay. We booked a 3 night stay in January 2014.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Address: 615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.