We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville to your Saves list
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Smithville B&B and Inns
new jersey
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is the best B & B we have ever been too. We had Johnson Suite 202 which is beyond words lovely. The suite is so warm, homey and inviting. The bathroom with the great tub and unbelievable shower---worth the visit alone.

The Living Room and Bedroom each have their own TV and Fireplace---so gorgeous. The bed is not only outstanding, but so comfortable. Breakfast is delicious.

If you have never been to Smithville you have really missed something. We have never been away from home and family on Christmas Eve and Christmas, but this year we selected The Colonial Inn and it was one of our best holidays ever.

We enjoyed a great lunch at the Smithville Inn with a table by the window overlooking the lake. The village and shops were all lighted and decorated so beautifully. At 5:30 p.m they had a lighted Tree show on the lake which was fabulous.

This was a perfect holiday thanks to The Colonial Inn---a place that we will visit more often. Thank you!

Room Tip: Select one of their suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    28
    11
    3
    3
See reviews for
15
104
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed at the Colonial Inn after a bridal shower held in Historic Smithville, NJ. The Inn has rooms throughout the property. Our room was in the newest section called The Barn, located on the perimeter overlooking the "village". Beautifully decorated, excellent bedding (we had a room with 2 queens), HUGE bathroom, all spotlessly clean! It was perfect for my daughter and I. There are different room types available depending (suites, kings, etc.) You can view a number of the rooms on their website. Continental breakfast is included in the rate and you can either enjoy it in the little cafe onsite, or take it back to your room. There was a mini-fridge and coffeemaker, as well as small table & chairs in our room. Loved the electric fireplace! A perfect place to stay to enjoy the shopping, the nearby beaches and-- you are about 20 minutes north of Atlantic City! Historic Smithville is less than 10 minutes from the Garden State Parkway exit 48.
Historic Smithville is a "village" made up of little shops and restaurants, with a lake dividing it. There are paddle boats available along with a carousel and mini Steam Train. The shops offer something for everyone. You can have a quick meal at a couple of places, "Pub Grub" at Fred & Ethel's (with a full bar and beer on tap) or for elegant dining, the Smithville Inn.
The Colonial Inn and Historic Smithville are always decorated for the seasons...but Christmastime is especially beautiful! Don't miss it!

Room Tip: The Barn is quieter, but still just steps away from the Village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! You really nailed it with your overview of Smithville! It's all the things we love so much about being here. You totally get what we were going for with the Barn, just a little removed so you have your own space but still walking distance from everything. Seeing people discover and enjoy Smithville is my favorite part of this job, thank you for writing this and reconfirming that we are getting it right.
Your friend at Smithville,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I cannot say enough about our experience at the Barn portion of the Colonial Inn. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. They allowed us to check in early, and set aside parking for us, even during the crowded Irish Festival. Our room was very big, with an adorable America theme, While the decor was country and quaint, the bathroom and such were completely modern and large and clean. It was great to have a room that was walkout to the grounds, and it was right in the area with all the shops. The little kiddie train went right past our room.
In addition, we were told to come over to the cafe in the morning and they would fill our basket with breakfast, including a muffin, coffee or tea, yogurt, juice, etc. We filled our basket and brought it back to our room for a nice breakfast. They also offer cookies for guests in the afternoon and you can stop in and get a drink any time.
The people who were worked there were extremely nice and helpful, and they treated you as if they knew you. It was a pleasure to stay here and we can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Always wanted to go to Smithville, NJ & then when the Free B&B for veteran's opportunity came up we decided on The Colonial Inn Bed & Breakfast. This entire place was so adorable! My husband & I did an overnight on Sunday to Monday, We actually stayed in Room 308, @ The Barn, the room was clean, inviting, comfortable, and spacious! The décor was modern country. We will definitely be back. The surroundings were so sweet, & the grounds were very clean & once the shoppers left it was quite & peaceful. What an amazing history it has to offer, which I love, & all the shops, absolutely loved also. The breakfast in the morning was very basic, coffee or tea, a muffin & yogurt. We ate @ AJ's which was delicious, priced a bit on the high side but very good. Great weather, a great appearance & Tracey @ check-in was very nice, helpful & accommodating!

Room Tip: The rooms @ The Barn are new, not sure about the other rooms @ the main building, but definately rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, NJ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family of four stayed here during the Hurricane Sandy evacuation - We are south Jersey locals who appreciated the warm cozy beds and cool 'americana' style decor after being through a wet & cold week. Our room had an electric fire place and three beds - but somehow never felt cramped - very open & large room. Breakfast is simple - but delicious corn bread muffin, yogurt and unlimited coffee...which hit the spot (just like the Colonial Inn). Thanks - this local has found his local getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went to Smithville for Irish Festival. What a wonderful experience. From our initial greeting at the Colonical Inn check-in, to our clean, and spacious rooms. We travelled with another couple, and had rooms 106 and 107, that share a common hallway so we could close the outside door and go between our rooms. Both rooms have doors that lead to outside decks. Coffee was served right outside our doors at 7am, and our breakfast baskets (choice of muffin or croisant; juice, and yougurt, was ready at 8am. The Inn is located in the back end of the Village. There is also a small restaurant past the merrygoround, that serves a good breakfast if the basket isn't enough. This was a great place for our central location, which we were doing all wineries in the area. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If travelling with another couple, take rooms 106 and 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband bought me a gift certificate to the Colonial Inn and let me tell you, it is very popular. It is booked months in advance for weekends. That is why we decided to play hooky and stay for a night mid-week. Our reception at the desk was warm, but I felt like the woman was a machine--giving her canned hello, here's what you get, etc. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom, too. It had a steam shower, which fascinated my husband, and I enjoyed a warm bath in the deep tub. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were hard. I loved that the room looked over the lake. It was the Leeds Room. We were offered tea, coffee and shortbread when we arrived and had a croissant and muffin for breakfast. Our only problem? We wished we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Address: 615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.