We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, adorable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Save Saved
You added The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205   |  
Hotel amenities
Mount Royal, New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quaint, adorable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I cannot say enough about our experience at the Barn portion of the Colonial Inn. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like family. They allowed us to check in early, and set aside parking for us, even during the crowded Irish Festival. Our room was very big, with an adorable America theme, While the decor was country and quaint, the bathroom and such were completely modern and large and clean. It was great to have a room that was walkout to the grounds, and it was right in the area with all the shops. The little kiddie train went right past our room.
In addition, we were told to come over to the cafe in the morning and they would fill our basket with breakfast, including a muffin, coffee or tea, yogurt, juice, etc. We filled our basket and brought it back to our room for a nice breakfast. They also offer cookies for guests in the afternoon and you can stop in and get a drink any time.
The people who were worked there were extremely nice and helpful, and they treated you as if they knew you. It was a pleasure to stay here and we can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    25
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
92
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakhurst, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Always wanted to go to Smithville, NJ & then when the Free B&B for veteran's opportunity came up we decided on The Colonial Inn Bed & Breakfast. This entire place was so adorable! My husband & I did an overnight on Sunday to Monday, We actually stayed in Room 308, @ The Barn, the room was clean, inviting, comfortable, and spacious! The décor was modern country. We will definitely be back. The surroundings were so sweet, & the grounds were very clean & once the shoppers left it was quite & peaceful. What an amazing history it has to offer, which I love, & all the shops, absolutely loved also. The breakfast in the morning was very basic, coffee or tea, a muffin & yogurt. We ate @ AJ's which was delicious, priced a bit on the high side but very good. Great weather, a great appearance & Tracey @ check-in was very nice, helpful & accommodating!

Room Tip: The rooms @ The Barn are new, not sure about the other rooms @ the main building, but definately rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, NJ
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family of four stayed here during the Hurricane Sandy evacuation - We are south Jersey locals who appreciated the warm cozy beds and cool 'americana' style decor after being through a wet & cold week. Our room had an electric fire place and three beds - but somehow never felt cramped - very open & large room. Breakfast is simple - but delicious corn bread muffin, yogurt and unlimited coffee...which hit the spot (just like the Colonial Inn). Thanks - this local has found his local getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Went to Smithville for Irish Festival. What a wonderful experience. From our initial greeting at the Colonical Inn check-in, to our clean, and spacious rooms. We travelled with another couple, and had rooms 106 and 107, that share a common hallway so we could close the outside door and go between our rooms. Both rooms have doors that lead to outside decks. Coffee was served right outside our doors at 7am, and our breakfast baskets (choice of muffin or croisant; juice, and yougurt, was ready at 8am. The Inn is located in the back end of the Village. There is also a small restaurant past the merrygoround, that serves a good breakfast if the basket isn't enough. This was a great place for our central location, which we were doing all wineries in the area. Highly recommend

Room Tip: If travelling with another couple, take rooms 106 and 107.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My husband bought me a gift certificate to the Colonial Inn and let me tell you, it is very popular. It is booked months in advance for weekends. That is why we decided to play hooky and stay for a night mid-week. Our reception at the desk was warm, but I felt like the woman was a machine--giving her canned hello, here's what you get, etc. Our room was beautiful and the bathroom, too. It had a steam shower, which fascinated my husband, and I enjoyed a warm bath in the deep tub. The bed was comfortable, but the pillows were hard. I loved that the room looked over the lake. It was the Leeds Room. We were offered tea, coffee and shortbread when we arrived and had a croissant and muffin for breakfast. Our only problem? We wished we could have stayed another night!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitestone, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband & I have stayed at the Colonial Inn numerous times and each time is better than the next. The property is lovely, the rooms are beautiful, each with tasteful, quaint country themes, and the staff are welcoming and wonderful. We can't say enough about Tracy Walsh--not only is she professional, accomodating and helpful, she is truly a delight to deal with. She makes the process of booking rooms so easy! The last time we arrived we were exhausted, and Tracy made sure we had plenty of cookies and cool beverages to take with us to the room (customer service at its best). The shops on the property are really nice (crafts, clothes, jewelry, etc) and the grounds with the view of the lake are beautiful. Most important, the rooms are IMMACULATE. I truly have never been to such a clean property in my life, and the bathrooms (modern and gorgeous). I would highly recommend this Inn to everyone. Whether you choose a room in the main building, a room amongst the stores or in The Barn (we've stayed in them all), you can't go wrong,they are all so "comfy" (anytime of year). Enjoy your stay!!! Stacy & Joe B, Whitestone, NY

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colonialinnkeeper, Manager at The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Stacy and Joe,
Thank you for taking time to tell others about our Inn and well...thank you for the kind words about me:O). Welcoming people to Smithville is such a passion of mine! I hope that in some little way I can help our guest getaway be just a little bit better! It was so nice to hear that I made a difference. It's great to hear that Smithville is your getaway place for fun and relaxation, can't wait to see you again!
See you in the Village
Your friend at the Colonial Inn,
Tracy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claymont, delaware
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Colonial Inn in mid-September for two nights. About 10 days before our arrival, they called to ask if we wanted to be upgraded...we said yes and stayed in the Leeds room, which had a queen bed and overlooked the "lake", which isn't much on the end where we stayed,
Nonetheless, the room was very nice, comfortable mattress. elegant bathroom and clean. The breakfast is modest...you pick out a danish or croissant, coffee or tea, and juice the night before, then pick it up in the morning. You can eat in their lobby or take it back to your room, which we did...they have a little table in the room for eating.
The room had wi-fi which was nice.
The lodging is in the shoppes at Smithville, a collection of interesting shops, some in old buildings from New Jersey that were transported to Smithville for this purpose. There are also several eateries, including the historic Smithville Inn (didn't eat there) and Fred and Ethel's Lantern Light Restaurant (ate there twice. was OK, not great but perfectly acceptable) Also, the Smithville Bakery has a good breakfast and pastries.
We would go back again....definitely a nice place to stay and the location puts you to within a short drive of Atlantic City, Ocean City and other shore points.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville

Also Known As:
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel Smithville
The Colonial Inn At Historic Smithville Hotel
Address: 615 E. Moss Mill Rd., Smithville, NJ 08205
Location: United States > New Jersey > Smithville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Smithville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colonial Inn and the Barn at Smithville are a destination vacation. We are a bed and breakfast located in the middle of a Colonial shopping village with over 70 shops, 7 eateries, a train and carousel and so much more. Once you arrive at this lovely, luxurious inn there is no reason to get back in your car! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colonial Inn at Historic Smithville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.