We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Historic Smithville Inn

The Historic Smithville Inn
1 North New York Road, Smithville, NJ 08205
609/652-7777
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Historic Smithville Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Smithville
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 9 & Moss Mill Road
Transit: New Jersey Transit bus stop located directly across from the Smithville Inn.
Description: Old world charm meets new world hospitality in this lovely lakeside landmark. A longtime locals favorite serving award winning classic continental cuisine with a modern flair. The restaurant, resurrected from an uncertain future in 1997 by the combined efforts of the Coppola & Bushar families, has since reclaimed its spot among the favorite dining locations in the Atlantic City area.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have eaten dinner here 3 times. I kept thinking it was just an "off night." Although the setting is lovely, the service was very slow, the food was unimpressive, and my experiences were disappointing. Not worth going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    53
    15
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jones Creek, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst meal in a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My daughter ordered a hamburger, it was burned hard. Sent it back. Crab cakes burned on the bottom. Turkey dinner was worst than a frozen meal. Service was poor. Disappointed not the Smithville Inn of years ago.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABSECON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Long Time Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Chicken Pot Pie recipe was by original owner Ethyl Noyes and the current owners have had the good sense to leave it alone. Hunks of chicken in a creamy sauce with dumplings, celery, onions, carrots, peas and a flakey homemade crust. I get it every time. Yum !

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holtsville, NY
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Food was average you pay for the atmosphere which is very historical. Nice place for drinks in the bar area at night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Celebration Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We held my mom's 90th birthday celebration at the Smithville Inn with a luncheon buffet in the Absegami Room with a view of the lake, last Saturday, Aug. 17th. First of all, planning the party over the phone with Heather, the events coordinator, was easy and straightforward. Heather was efficient, friendly, and thorough, even though we communicated just a few times over the phone. When I finally made it there in person just a few days before the party, Heather took the time to show me the room, the layout of the tables, and where everything was going to be set up. We also needed a Mediterranean hors d'oeuvres display station, a beverage station for wines and soda, a gifts table, a table for place cards, an area for the DJ, a photobooth and sign-in book table, as well as a microphone and screen for the slideshow. Heather accommodated all these without even a moment's hesitation. She also let me taste the wines I had chosen just to make sure they were to my liking, and they tasted great. I was originally concerned about the buffet because the food would be cooking for an extended period of time, but everything was wonderful. The tilapia francaise was the best. The London broil was tender, and the chicken marsala was delicious. The fusilli pasta with grilled vegetables was a wonderful choice, especially for possible vegetarian guests. There were also roasted potatoes and sauteed green beans, as well as a mixed green salad. Everything was delicious and cooked just right. The wines were good, and the champagne for the toast was fine. We also ordered a special celebration cake in addition to the buffet dessert spread, which consisted of cookies, brownies, chocolate-covered pretzels, and some sliced carrot cake. The Smithville Inn provided the celebration cake via the Smithville Bakery, and it was delicious and decorated just as I requested. Complimentary iced tea, hot coffee and tea were also provided. One disaster was averted when my husband accidentally broke one of the vases of flowers just before the party started, so we were short a table arrangement. The maître d' was kind enough to scour the inn for a vase that was perfectly suitable, and he found one that was the exact height of the other vases. We were able to put together the table arrangement, and he saved the day! With so many things going on during an event, it was great to know that the staff at the Smithville Inn was so accommodating, attentive, efficient, friendly, and just wonderful to work with. We have been frequent guests at the Smithville Inn for their wonderful Sunday Brunch, and our family had held a bridal shower and a 50th birthday party there in the past, so we are familiar with the high caliber of food and service that the Smithville Inn provides. However, we still looked into other venues for this momentous occasion. We decided on the Smithville Inn, and after the party, my whole family was so glad, and we all agreed that the Smithville Inn was the perfect venue for our mom's 90th birthday celebration. A big thank you to the staff at The Historic Smithville Inn for our very successful party!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Historic Smithville Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Historic Smithville Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Historic Smithville Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.