We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wait staff and pizza.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of California Pizza Kitchen

California Pizza Kitchen
1200 Morris Tpke, Ste B270, Short Hills, NJ 07078-0427
973-379-3721
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 23 Restaurants in Short Hills
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Californian, Pizza & Pasta
Restaurant details
Osseo, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent wait staff and pizza.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We loved our waitress and pizza. Just a great experience. Try the chicken bacon pizza with arugula, tomato, and avacado on top. Yum!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, NJ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Decent food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Popped in for a quick late lunch. Place was pretty empty and the location is in a really nice upscale mall so expected good service. We got off to a poor start when we were seated right by the doors into the kitchen (really? over a dozen empty booths and as many tables and THAT's where you seat customers?!). We ordered fresh brewed ice teas and the fish tacos with avocado. Pretty simple stuff

Once our waiter realized we were not going to order massive amounts of food and specialty drinks, we completely lost his interest. It took close to 20 minutes for the food to hit our table ... I did mention it was mid-afternoon and the place was pretty empty? This gave us plenty of time to watch the staff goofing off in the kitchen - a friendly tip, if you're going to take advantage of some downtime at work and screw around, keep it down and don't seat an audience.

It's a shame my rating is so biased by the crap service because the fish tacos were really very good - fish was fried to a nice crunch but not greasy and topped with fresh shredded cabbage and sliced avocado with great ranchito sauce and fresh salsa and chips on the side. Food totally hit the spot and fueled us for some retail therapy

Restaurant offers nice outside seating, though why anyone would want to eat their lunch overlooking a parking deck and breathing in the fumes from Rt.24/JFK Parkway and passing cars is beyond me.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“The Best Pea Soup!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

A good choice for a post Mother's Day Dinner! We had great service and delicious pea soup. Three of us shared two appetizers and we had plenty to eat. I would definitely return to CPK.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good Value for Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

California Pizza kitchen delivers consistent quality for the price, as a reliable chain which is not quite fast food. Offerings are interesting, though some combinations don't work so well. It's all a matter of taste. We had to wait 30-45 minutes to be seated early evening Saturday. Service was friendly and quick. I would prefer that the seating not be so tight, but it was ok.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great entry into Gluten Free pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

CPK was already a favorite of our family, but is even more now that they have gluten free pizza! When ordering a standard gf pizza, they go to great lengths to keep everything completely celiac safe. Better yet, the crust is excellent! You can even fold a slice, something I have never been able to do with any other gf pizza crust. Yummy! The service at the Short Hills restaurant always has been excellent too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

 
Short Hills, NJ
Short Hills, NJ
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage California Pizza Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.