We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Short Hills

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Short Hills to your Saves list
Hilton Short Hills
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   41 John F. Kennedy Parkway, Short Hills, NJ 07078   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Off Shopping Package
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
metuchen, nj
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2009

My recent stay at The Short Hills Hilton was very disappointing. The problem started upon arrival. I was shocked when the gentleman checking me in informed me that my card was declined for the amount of my room. Knowing that the card has a five figure balance, I was completely embarrassed. I called the bank to confirm the balance and asked the gentleman to run the card again. The card worked fine. No apology was given for the embarrassing moment he created. Things only got worse from here. I had two massage appointments booked in the spa. When I arrived at the spa I was informed that only one massage would be accommodated due to the lack of personnel. To be fair, other services were offered to me but I declined. At this point I was offered a meager gesture of a free drink and two thirty minute extension vouchers to be used on my next visit. They were assuming that I would be back. When I finally made it to the pool I ordered two drinks that took more than thirty minutes to arrive. Things were not going well. Next were drinks and dinner in the bar lounge area. The service was unprofessional and lackadaisical. The Hilton expects its guests to pay top dollar for its services, shouldn't the guests have their expectations met as well? The answer is yes! However, on this visit to the Hilton my experience did not exceed my expectations.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
I am disappointed to read your poor review. Your stay was certainly not indicative of our usual high standards and i hope it will not deter you from staying with us again on a future occasion.

Regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    177
    64
    40
    16
See reviews for
121
106
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009

Returned to this hotel to give it another try, and without any intervention by management, the stay was uneventful and very pleasant. Check-in was easy and without a problem. Josh at the front desk was very professional and pleasant.

The front desk manager, Melissa, did see that I had returned after my stay was completed, and sent a very nice email. So, recovery is everything. I enjoyed my stay and will stay again. Thank you for a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, December 23, 2009
Thank you for trying us again and for posting a postive review. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon when i am confident that you will again have a great stay.

kind regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

My recent stay at the Short Hills Hilton was brief and I was thankful for only the one night. I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel many times before when it used to be "the" place to stay in Northern New Jersey. I believe that the issues that I experienced are not necessarily emblematic of the property but more representative of the economical downturn.

When I arrived via taxi from Newark Airport, there was no bellman at the door, which has never happened at this location. I went to check-in and the young lady behind the desk was on the phone taking a reservation. Not necessarily surprising at a hotel but you would not expect this to happen at a hotel of this supposed stature. After she completed the call, she then answered the phone which typically would be the responsibility of a PBX operator. After completing the check-in I continued to my room which I found to be clean but tattered, both on the furniture and linens.

I went down to the restaurant for lunch and the lack of professionalism abounds with virtually no uniforms and totally unkempt looking staff. Frankly, I could have been at a Denny's restaurant and expected the same.

That evening we had a gathering in the lounge and there was not a server but rather the bar tender was also the server, which is not representative of the class that this hotel used to have.

In closing, while the stay was virtually problem free, it does not represent or meet the expectations that I have based on the history of the hotel as well as the pricing that you pay to stay there. While the hotel may not admit it, it appears that it is falling victim to insufficient cash flow and thus cutting back on staff and capital items has become a necessary evil.

If you are looking for a pampering, first class experience, this is not the place for you, although in the location of the property I'm not sure what the alternative would be.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Thank you for your feedback though i am sorry that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay.

I note that you didnt receive poor service, just that there was fewer staff that particular evening. Reading your review i assume you checked in on a very quiet night as we normally always have more than enough team members on duty.

I hope that this experience will not deter you from staying again, as we are still the hotel of choice in the area.

Kind regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

just spent a night here and I'm really trying to understand why this hotel is considered 5 star. It's a typical Hilton but with gaudy decor, unjustifiably high prices and average service. If I hadn't heard about how great this hotel is, I suppose my expectations wouldn't have lead to disappointment. It's a fair 4 star hotel but nothing more. The bed was very comfortable, the concierge in the executive level was never there, food service at the pool (fruit plate and a bottle of wine) took over an hour and we were the only people there, and the breakfast buffet is the standard Hilton breakfast. Shannan at the front desk was very helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.

Just to clarify, we are not a 5 diamond hotel but one of the five 4 diamond properties in NJ.

I am sorry that you felt our decor was gawdy; many guests compliment us on our furnishings, comparing to classic properties.

I hope to welcome you back again when you are next visiting the area.

kind regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2009

I have stayed at the hotel numerous times over the past three months, and have always found it to be immaculate, beautifully appointed, comfortable and quiet, with gracious, helpful staff. The restaurant / room service are delicious and innovative, without straying from the comfort zone (but expensive!) If you have a Visa Signature card, there is a fantastic room discount (25%) available until Sept. 30, at the hilton.com/visa web address.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterWebster007, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, September 7, 2009
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Webster
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
france
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

This hotel is OK. Don't expect the real 5 star treatment though. The staff have no idea about manners. We stayed in this hotel several times through the company we work for and every morning we got the same off-hand treatment by the usher lady in the breakfast room. Just like everybody else. She couldn't be more ill-mannered if she tried! Room service is expensive, you have to pay for wireless per computer, the pool is tired, no dressing gowns in rooms any more and coffee makers don't work very well. There used to be complimentary tea/coffee in the lounge through the mornings. The last time we stayed we had to move rooms because of noisy neighbours. The Mall over the road is absolutely lovely but not enough of an attraction to make us stay in this hotel again. It is essentially a dormitory for Lufthansa crews. Our employer has started to consider other options in the area. Pity. It used to be a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Thank you for your feedback though i was sorry to read that you were disappointed with your recent stay.
In response to your feedback, we do still serve complimentary coffee every morning in the lobby as well as provide free in room coffee. The outside pool was just refurbished this spring and the indoor pool was completely renovated in the fall; both have received great reviews from other guests. Regarding bathrobes, these are available on our executive level as well as other amenities including access to the exclusive lounge, serving free breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres.
I hope that you will try us again when you are next in NJ as we are still the premier hotel in the area.
Peter Webster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

I was very disappointed in this hotel. The hotel is located in one of the nicest suburbs in New Jersey and I/we received horrible service from the night managers and the bar/restaurant manager.

First, the ice machine on our floor must have been leaking b/c right next to it was a huge puddle of water and a disgusting mildew smell.

Secondly, on my last night someone charged $300 of drinks to my room, which over 3 weeks later still has not been rectified.

Good luck.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mserban, General Manager at Hilton Short Hills, responded to this review, August 18, 2009
Thank you for your response though, as we discussed on the phone, i am sorry you were inadvertently incorrectly charged for drinks late at night in the bar. This refund was processed in full shortly after we spoke.

I look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Peter Webster, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Short Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Short Hills

Address: 41 John F. Kennedy Parkway, Short Hills, NJ 07078
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Short Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Short Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Short Hills 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Short Hills is New Jersey's premier Four Diamond AAA rated hotel has maintained this designation for well over a decade. Located in the affluent suburban New Jersey Community of Millburn this hotel provides a modern luxury feel with first class service. In February 2013 the hotel will celebrate its 25th anniversary. The variety of room options include standard accommodations with views of the Mall at Short Hills or the woodlands, our 36 one bedroom Suites provide residential like accommodations that will not disappoint. Guests on our Executive Level have an extra amenity, the Executive Lounge providing continental breakfast, continuous beverages and evening appetizers and desserts.Enjoy the recently renovated Dining Room or relax in our comfortable Retreat Bar & Lounge. Whether on business or leisure travel the eforea spa provides a tranquil escape from the pressures of life. Lounge poolside at our indoor spa pool or enjoy the beautiful summer weather at our seasonal outdoor pool. Make it a point to visit the world class Mall at Short Hills which is opposite the hotel.If you are looking for a private banquet event or corporate meeting space the Hilton Short Hills offers some of the most exclusive event and meeting space in the region. Our 5,000 square foot ballroom can be transformed into whatever event space you envision.Our team of hospitality professionals awaits to serve you and provide the exceptional service you have come to expect from the Hilton Short Hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Short Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Short Hills Hotel Short Hills

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Short Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.