We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fresh fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Legal Sea Foods - Short Hills

Legal Sea Foods - Short Hills
1200 Morris Turnpike, The Mall at Short Hills, Short Hills, NJ 07078
+1 973-467-0089
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Legal Sea Foods - Short Hills is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 23 Restaurants in Short Hills
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Chowder, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: JFK Parkway
Description: The signature dish at Legal Sea Foods – really fresh fish. Our restaurant is located inside The Mall at Short Hills on the lower level. You may choose to beach yourself in our dining room or at our bar. Either way, we’ll think you walk on water - be sure to see our aquarium of koi fish built into the floor. Legal Sea Foods has long proven that a consistent, high quality dining experience never goes out of style. With over 40 varieties of fresh fish and shellfish available throughout the year as well as an award-winning wine list, there’s no doubt why legions of fans have fallen hook, line and sinker. We’ve received a boatload of accolades including the honor of serving our legendary New England Clam Chowder at every presidential inauguration since 1981.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“fresh fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

If you like fresh fish , this is the place to go. On weekends is very crowded and even with reservations you'll probably have to wait.
All the dishes we tried were tasty and fresh. Our 4 friends agreed.
Because it is located at the Short Hills Mall it is very convenient to have dinner there after spending some time at that beautiful mall.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    49
    30
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“''Delish'' Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This terrific sea food restaurant is located in the Short Hills Mall. Despite the location, the food was delicious and luscious. The portions are a perfect size and the service was excellent. The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere, and is always crowded. Our meal, which consisted of an assortment of delicate Kumamoto oysters and more robust Winona oysters as well as steamed lobster, Boston Scrod, and grilled tuna, was perfectly prepared.

I would highly recommend this restaurant for a casual dinner in a very pleasant place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable lunchtime spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Called in on spec with 4 colleagues. Given a table immediately. Food turned up in good time and was as you would expect from this chain.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My fav spot for seafood in the area. Seafood is very fresh. The restaurant is very cozy and ambiance is special.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley Beach, New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fresh Sea food not near the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

It's nice to know that I don't have to go down the shore to get good sea food. We were walking around the Short hills mall and decided we needed to get some dinner. We went on line to Open Table and made a reservation for 7:30 PM, the Mall closes on Saturdays at 8:00PM. We got a confirmation by Open Table and continued to shop at the Mall. at about 7:15 we arrived at the Legal Sea Foods restaurant and saw a mob scene of people, all waiting and trying to get a table. From an outsider looking in it looked bleak for us getting a 7:30 table. We checked in with a lovely hostess who calmly assured us that we would be seated at 7;30. We waited the 15 minutes while all sorts of people tried in vain to get a table and at 7:30 we were called and seated in a lovely booth, with an attentive waitress who immediately asked us what we would like to drink. What a surprise Open Table reservations work well at Legal Sea food. Well the Steamers were really excellent just like eating at Ollie Kleins in Belmar. My salad was made to my exact specifications and was nice and crispy with plenty of tomatoes and sunflower seeds, i ordered the Scrod and it was made just as I orderd. Needless to say the bottomless soda's kept coming and I was very pleased with the meal. The nice little rolls were steaming hot with just enough butter to satisfy the most hungry appetite you might want to satisfy. I really look forward to returning to this restaurant next time I am at he Mall. Try it you'll like it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Legal Sea Foods - Short Hills also viewed

 
Short Hills, NJ
Short Hills, NJ
 

Been to Legal Sea Foods - Short Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Legal Sea Foods - Short Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.