We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restore the ice cream at the shore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dairy King

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dairy King
1806 Long Beach Blvd, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008-4443
(609) 492-1220
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 35 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Cuisines: Dessert
Restaurant details
1 review
“Restore the ice cream at the shore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have been to the dairy king many times over the past few years but the storm has done it's damage. Turkey HIll soft serve ice cream is not the same as what I remember last year or the machines have changed. Very water and not creamy. I will not be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    2
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

They have soft serve, but we opted for real ice cream. Cake batter ice cream for the kids. I thought it was good although not my first choice for a flavor. Great mint chocolate chip ice cream. Decent cookie dough. Not the best cookie dough I've had. 5 cone types to choose from when I was there. Great friendly service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best place for ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Like Dairy Queen but better....Dairy King has peanut butter dipping for the cones. Get a small vanilla dipped in peanut butter and you can die happy. And Mr T's mini golf is right around the corner - you can't play golf with a stop at Dairy King afterwards !

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olyphant , pa
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nostalgic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Eat in your car Ice cream place. Great selections. Hard and soft ice cream. Perfect end to the evening.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“a staple on LBI for many years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Dairy King has lines wrapped around the building for a reason, it truly is the best ice cream. People sometimes complain about the prices on the island and yes Dairy king may not be cheap but it is right along the rest of the places on LBI yet with better ice cream and serving sizes. A hot fudge sundae comes in a PINT cup! So when you think to complain about the price just remember that you just ordered a full pint worth of ice cream. I have never met more appreciative group of employees. Whenever they receive a tip wether it be 5 cents or 5 dollar they thank you about three times, tell you to have a good night and give you a genuine smile as you leave. Also, as soon as you walk up to the window you are greeted with a smile and a " How are you?" question and every time I go with my younger siblings they also find something to talk to them about, they genuinly care about each and every customer.

Dairy King is conveintly located near two restraunts and walking distance of many blocks.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dairy King also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Dairy King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dairy King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.