We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but too expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's Dolce Vita

Roberto's Dolce Vita
12907 Long Beach Blvd, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
(609) 492-1001
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 35 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
NJ
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good but too expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We returned to Roberto's this evening after a 1 or 2 year break. (We had had one or two less than stellar experiences and we felt that the quality had declined previously.) The quality is back, but it comes with a high price tag. Three of us shared a clam appetizer. We each had an entrée - two scallop specials and a stuffed shrimp special. NO alcohol, no soda, only water and the bill with tax and tip was $156. A few weeks back e had a similar shrimp dish- minus the stuffing - at Elements which was about half the price. I can say the staff was friendly and attentive - although service was a bit slow. It will have to be a special occasion for us to return at these prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harvey Cedars, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Molto Dolce Vita”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great meal the other day at Roberto’s Dolce Vita on LBI. Just about everything was perfect. Four of us were out to celebrate the end of the rental season and the beginning of the locals’ (our) season. Each couple split an appetizer. Our friends had the single crab cake, (a special that night) which was accompanied by corn salsa. I tasted the crab cake plus salsa and it was excellent. My wife and I had the Calamari Fritti served with a marinara sauce on the side (actually my wife doesn’t eat Calamari, so the split was a little uneven). It was the best Calamari I’ve had all season – and I've tried it at almost every Italian restaurant we went to this summer. No ‘rubber-bands’ here – it was fried to perfection. Our friends each had the Dolce Vita veal, which they said was tasty and tender. I had the Veal Marsala, which was indeed tasty and fork tender with fresh mushrooms and a real Marsala wine sauce. Each entree comes with a house salad and a small plate of pasta. Instead of a separate plate of pasta, I asked for my veal to be served over linguini, which they did. My wife had the Tortellini with a Bolognese sauce that she claimed was equally as good as our choices. The service was excellent, including a very attentive waitress, Catharine, and an ever mindful busboy. The ambiance of the newly refurbished, post-Sandy, dining area was spacious, clean, and nicely appointed and no one had to raise their voice above normal levels to be heard – a real plus. We ended our meal with three different desserts. Each of which was a perfect ending to a great dining experience. Dinner with tip came to about $90.00 per couple. Roberto’s is BYOB/W.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Although I've read some of the recent reviews of the restaurant, we took a chance and stopped by on a Friday night without reservations. Although they were pretty much booked, they arranged a few things around and were able to seat us. Our waitress, Lisa, was attentive and helpful. The three of us were really pleased by what we ordered. The chicken saltimbocca was well prepared and the portion was nice. The two other pasta dishes were good as well -- we cleaned our plates. I wouldn't say that the menu was inventive, but for good basic Italian food we were definitely satisfied and would return. The decor was nice and it was remodeled after Hurricane Sandy. If I were to make 2 suggestions, I thought that the price was a bit high for the area and I'm not big on menus that indicate additional pricing for add-ons (e.g. add $1 for cappellini, $2 for xxx). Especially since the prices were higher to begin with.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Going downhill”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Been here many times. The menu is the usual, kind of boring. Went a few weeks ago and we won't be back again. Lost our business. The waitress we had was unbelievably sloooooow! She was pleasant but awful. The appetizer portion was one third what is used to be and it was not cheap. We were just really turned off all the way around.They finally updated the decor, forced by superstorm Sandy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“good restaurant depending on what you order”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

The appetizers were fantastic: mussels in garlic sauce and calamar. the pasta was good (marinara sauce OK). I had the veal caprese with tomatoe and mozzarella in a brown sauce. The veal had a funny taste to it and I wound up getting sick that night. No one else got sick and enjoyed their meal. I do have a sensitive stomach so perhaps it was me. the restaurant is very nice and the owner/ wait staff are fantastic. I am not sure I would return there though. It is BYOB

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Dolce Vita also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Roberto's Dolce Vita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's Dolce Vita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.