We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Day at the beach...Dassit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Save
You added Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for a Day at the beach...Dassit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

It's a decent hotel. It's kinda expensive for what your getting. It's just a normal hotel. The rooms are clean sure..but it's got that old hotel smell. The staff was ok, I didn't really deal with them. I stayed in the first floor beach view, you can sorta see the beach..the dunes block your view, so I would suggest get a 2nd or 3rd floor. Dunno if shelling out $300 plus for a shore hotel is really a value for anyone...but I mean it was clean and it's in the middle of LBI so it's only a drive either way to wherever you wanna go.

Room Tip: Go for the 2nd floor beach front rooms. You can't see a thing on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
53
52
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nanuet, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Drifting Sands Motel several times over the past year. I have never been disappointed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the courteous and helpful staff and the great location of the motel. If you are looking for clean rooms on the beach I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stay away!!!!
Believe the previous reviewers who
state the truth of this motel!!!

-DIRTY ROOMS
-OVERPRICED
-USED WRINKLED SHEETS
-BROKEN FURNITURE

Incredibly rude owner!

Sad and bad experience!

Plenty of nice, well-priced motels in Harvey Cedars and beyond!

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

If proximity to the beach is your only concern, this property should be perfect - only an easy 200 foot walk to the ocean! But be warned about the tissue thin walls/noise from other guests, musty smelling stairways, stone hard mattresses, lack of interior locks on the doors (still using keys from the outside!), lamentable breakfast (rubbery bagels) and anemic shower. I did get a solid hour of sleep though and the price for the room was lower than your typical Four Seasons. The rooms were clean though dated. Can't say there are any better, even for the high price.

Room Tip: Bring a few pair of those moldable ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Older Place but well kept. Nothing fancy, just a great view of the ocean as you sit on your porch. How much to pay for such a view is the other question as I think its a bit overpriced. Theres a few restaurants close enough to walk but most require a short drive. Summertime is very crowded and busy everywhere.

Room Tip: third floor oceanside is the best view but you can get away with the second floor also and see most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel. The room and beds were very comfortable and we slept with the screen door open to the sounds of crashing waves. Walking distance to great restaurants and coffee shop. The beach access was so close to the room. This motel met our needs.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor to avoid hearing foot steps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I gave this hotel 5 stars because it is one of the best on LBI and has a great winter price. I'm not saying that it is a 5 star hotel. It has it's flaws, but overall it is a clean, friendly, accommodating hotel. We stayed there New Years Eve with friends in 3 rooms and there was discount if you went to Joe Pop's NYE party! $99 - 129 for a night is a fantastic price! The heat was fine, the bathrooms look updated and the staff was friendly and helpful. In the morning we walked to a open-all-year cafe and had a wonderful breakfast. If you choose oceanfront, you will have a view of the ocean from the third floor; there is not a view from the first floor (I don't know about the second floor). Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.