We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Save
You added Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Nanuet, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I have stayed at the Drifting Sands Motel several times over the past year. I have never been disappointed with the cleanliness of the rooms, the courteous and helpful staff and the great location of the motel. If you are looking for clean rooms on the beach I highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    27
    21
    10
    18
See reviews for
58
57
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Stay away!!!!
Believe the previous reviewers who
state the truth of this motel!!!

-DIRTY ROOMS
-OVERPRICED
-USED WRINKLED SHEETS
-BROKEN FURNITURE

Incredibly rude owner!

Sad and bad experience!

Plenty of nice, well-priced motels in Harvey Cedars and beyond!

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

If proximity to the beach is your only concern, this property should be perfect - only an easy 200 foot walk to the ocean! But be warned about the tissue thin walls/noise from other guests, musty smelling stairways, stone hard mattresses, lack of interior locks on the doors (still using keys from the outside!), lamentable breakfast (rubbery bagels) and anemic shower. I did get a solid hour of sleep though and the price for the room was lower than your typical Four Seasons. The rooms were clean though dated. Can't say there are any better, even for the high price.

Room Tip: Bring a few pair of those moldable ear plugs if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Older Place but well kept. Nothing fancy, just a great view of the ocean as you sit on your porch. How much to pay for such a view is the other question as I think its a bit overpriced. Theres a few restaurants close enough to walk but most require a short drive. Summertime is very crowded and busy everywhere.

Room Tip: third floor oceanside is the best view but you can get away with the second floor also and see most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel. The room and beds were very comfortable and we slept with the screen door open to the sounds of crashing waves. Walking distance to great restaurants and coffee shop. The beach access was so close to the room. This motel met our needs.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor to avoid hearing foot steps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I gave this hotel 5 stars because it is one of the best on LBI and has a great winter price. I'm not saying that it is a 5 star hotel. It has it's flaws, but overall it is a clean, friendly, accommodating hotel. We stayed there New Years Eve with friends in 3 rooms and there was discount if you went to Joe Pop's NYE party! $99 - 129 for a night is a fantastic price! The heat was fine, the bathrooms look updated and the staff was friendly and helpful. In the morning we walked to a open-all-year cafe and had a wonderful breakfast. If you choose oceanfront, you will have a view of the ocean from the third floor; there is not a view from the first floor (I don't know about the second floor). Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night while we were in town for a wedding, during off season. For a NJ Beach "Motel" it is clean, the rooms are nicely decorated and the staff seems nice. We had an ocean view corner room on the 3rd floor which had a beautiful view. When out on the balcony you were practically on the beach. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ship Bottom
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Manahawkin / Long Beach Island
23.3 mi away
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa
#1 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,765 reviews
22.7 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#4 of 57 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Sea Spray Motel
Sea Spray Motel
#4 of 11 in Beach Haven
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
21.1 mi away
Stockton Seaview Hotel & Golf Club
21.4 mi away
Marriott's Fairway Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.