We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Save
You added Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Livingston, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Older Place but well kept. Nothing fancy, just a great view of the ocean as you sit on your porch. How much to pay for such a view is the other question as I think its a bit overpriced. Theres a few restaurants close enough to walk but most require a short drive. Summertime is very crowded and busy everywhere.

Room Tip: third floor oceanside is the best view but you can get away with the second floor also and see most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
53
52
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this motel. The room and beds were very comfortable and we slept with the screen door open to the sounds of crashing waves. Walking distance to great restaurants and coffee shop. The beach access was so close to the room. This motel met our needs.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor to avoid hearing foot steps overhead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I gave this hotel 5 stars because it is one of the best on LBI and has a great winter price. I'm not saying that it is a 5 star hotel. It has it's flaws, but overall it is a clean, friendly, accommodating hotel. We stayed there New Years Eve with friends in 3 rooms and there was discount if you went to Joe Pop's NYE party! $99 - 129 for a night is a fantastic price! The heat was fine, the bathrooms look updated and the staff was friendly and helpful. In the morning we walked to a open-all-year cafe and had a wonderful breakfast. If you choose oceanfront, you will have a view of the ocean from the third floor; there is not a view from the first floor (I don't know about the second floor). Will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night while we were in town for a wedding, during off season. For a NJ Beach "Motel" it is clean, the rooms are nicely decorated and the staff seems nice. We had an ocean view corner room on the 3rd floor which had a beautiful view. When out on the balcony you were practically on the beach. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mills River, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Just completed a 5 day stay there during a snow storm and very low temperatures. This hotel is not built for this. The baseboard heating is very outdated and stopped working multiple times. The first morning we woke up it 46 degrees in our room. Even when the baseboard heaters work it is very difficult to control the temperature in the room.They did supply space heaters. My son had a room next door had the same base heater failure and then blew a fuse. The people there are very nice but never offered any type of refund for our troubles. On the plus side the towels were new, the linen and bed comfortable and the place was clean. For $130 a night off season this was not a great stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Clean, quiet, safe, and the best ocean front view and beach I have seen in the NE. Ocean front rooms are a great price off season and I cant imagine how much fun summer is here. Tons of Restaurants close by and Ron Jons across the street. Reminds me of Canaveral National Sea Shore in Fla only 1,000 miles north! I drive out of my way in NJ to stay here. I am a Hampton guy but I will drive by one to stay here and see the ocean.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed at this motel off-season for a wedding this month. The motel was clean but a little outdated for furnishings and decoration - no flat screen tv, etc.

Location was great - right on the beach and you can walk to restaurants and stores. Right next to a CVS.

Since it was off season it was very quiet. I can imagine it's very lively, crowded and highly trafficked during the summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.