We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekday trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Save Saved
You added Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ship Bottom
Milton, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekday trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Drifting Sands during the week in July 2013, (buy 2 days get the third free). The 3rd floor room was very clean and our oceanfront room had a spectacular view! The room had all the normal conveniences with a small refrigerator & microwave. You can rent beach lounge chairs & umbrellas too. The staff was very pleasant & helpful. There is a great restaurant within walking distance (Raimondo's and it's BYOB) and several good places for breakfast also within walking distance. I would stay there again. It is great for families and couples. I would have expected this motel to be booked but it was very very quiet there. The entire island was actual very quiet but that is to be expected with the hit it took. I imagine next year things will be back to the normal. My guess is visitors are a bit leery this year. But if you can go this year do it. LBI needs us customers now to visit their merchants and help them up a build back up.

Room Tip: No elevator so keep the stairs in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    21
    20
    9
    17
See reviews for
52
51
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very friendly and courteous staff. Rooms were very clean. Convenient walk for breakfast. Stayed in the ocean view building. Beds were new and comfortable. Beach chairs and umbrellas were available. Beach looked great!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airmont, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our summer weekend visit to this lovely clean ocean front motel has been a repeat on our summer things to do. We love the convenient location and the the courteous staff, the surprise weekend continental breakfast . We go back knowing we won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: So great to be on the beach front in a lovely clean room. We enjoyed our time and thank everyone for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We love the Drifting Sands. We have stayed here several time, and we will come back every time we visit LBI. The oceanfront rooms have beautiful views. They are clean and spacious. The office was very friendly and helpful. In fact, we left our camera in our room. We were called and the camera was sent back without a charge. Not all places have this type of service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmerton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We've been staying at different places on the island for years now but didn't know about this one. We found it after staying two summers ago and made plans to stay last year. It was perfect for all of our needs! We wanted a place where we could cook our own meals and they had a very nice efficiency on the second floor where we could see the ocean from our balcony. The only thing better would be to stay in one of the great rooms they offer even closer to the beach with the beautiful balconies but we want the efficiency. We love the pretty yellow paint on the building. It was clean and the staff was very friendly. We like the location and had so many safe places to ride our bikes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The thing is, I like this place. The people at check in are nice and it's right on the ocean. But... I'd asked for the room where we'd stayed before, which has a pretty ocean/tree view. When we got here last weekend we were given a "complimentary upgrade" to a really noisy room with a view of the ocean and a power pole. We mentioned the noise and the lady said she'd call someone, but it was there that night and we barely slept, like a bowling ball rolling on the roof it persisted. Next time, I will insist upon the room I requested. I'm sure they will fix the issue on the roof eventually. In their defense, Sandy may have been part of the cause, but still, we're paying to relax. We even wanted to stay two more nights, but checked out early because the noise was unbearable. So 5 stars for last year's stay and 2 stars for this year's. But I wouldn't write it off based on this one experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, PA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our stay was a free night won at a travel show, so, not much to lose. Very pleasantly surprised that they booked us into a third floor ocean front room. Granted it was at the top of the stairs on the end and maybe (?) smaller than other rooms, but it suited us fine. The view of the beach and ocean from our balcony was beautiful. The view of the ugly utility pole from the side window, not so great, but the evergreen trees planted there should hide that eventually. It was nice to be able to open the windows and sliding door for a great ocean breeze. The naturescape between the motel and the sand had loads of monarch butterflies. Room was a decent size king and the bed, while oddly hard on the edges and soft in the interior was comfortable enough. The furniture had a simple cottage look and was cute. An empty corner in front of the sliding door could use an upholstered chair. There's nothing to sit on besides the bed or 2 hard chairs. A small fridge, microwave and sink came in handy. 4, count 'em, 4 plastic hangers in the large closet and NO in- room safe. Ridiculous coffee service. One small motel sized pot, 2 mugs, 1 packet of coffee and.....that's it. No stirrers, spoon, powdered creamer, napkin, nothing, besides the packet of coffee. Pretty sad. The bathroom was very clean. Amenities included a few packets of toothpaste and a small assortment of lotions and soaps. Nothing special, but useful. Towels were fine. Ecru! Flat screen tv with HBO and a bunch of other cable type channels. AC unit in the wall seemed to be newish and while we didn't need it, it looked to be big enough to do it's job. Slightly stinky smell in the room and bathroom, but I don't think it was associated with mold or crud, just a beachfront kind of thing. Overall, it was nice and appeared clean and I would recommend room 321. I do not know what the usual price is so I can't address value for the money. For free, it was great!! Thanks, Drifting Sands!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Ship Bottom
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.