We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Complete Rip Off!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel
Save
You added Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Complete Rip Off!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the Drifting Sands Motel for one night as we were in town for a wedding. We opted for the ocean front room thinking that it would be some what nice. Well we were wrong. The room was dirty especially the bathroom -ick! The TV was very old and the picture was fading in and out. The linens were very worn and air conditioner was very loud and clunky.

The porch was nice and the view was pretty of the beach. Other than that this is for sure a Motel quality hotel and the hotel owner should be ashamed for charging 5 star prices. Next time we will rent a house or stay at another hotel. The on-site beach was not worth the unpleasant room. Some of our family stayed in the efficencies and they were apparently in even worse condition. They too were charged a fortune for a crappy and smelly room.

Save your money and go elsewhere!

Room Tip: Just stay away!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    23
    20
    10
    18
See reviews for
53
53
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This was our first time to the area, and we had a very nice time. The beachs were clean and water was fantastic!! the stay at the hotel was nice and quiet, just what we wanted. We had an oceanview room, would have like to have a better view of the ocean, but the room was clean, and staff was very pleasant and helpful with directions to local places to eat. We enjoyed LBI and even though we will try other hotels, we will come back to this one again! Only suggestion would be to have breakfast bagels all week, instead of just on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I wouldn't recommend this place to my dog. We stayed here for a baseball tournament and it was the most horrible place I have ever seen. It was filthy and overpriced. I thought I was in a taping of the show "Cops."

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchess County, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

For a few seasons we rented rooms at this hotel. We liked that it was on the beach and if we booked early we could get a little bit of a discount. Our room had two double beds and a mini fridge and sink, a whirlpool tub and a balcony. We were not ocean front, but ocean view. For our family we always had adjoining rooms and it was great. If you want a central island location, this is it! Just over the bridge and you find yourself at the hotel. The hotel staff was always ready to provide whatever we needed and the rooms were very clean, especially compared to some of the other hotel rooms we saw on the island that had that run down beach feel to them. We now rent a house on another part of the island, as our family has grown and it better meets our overall needs.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are bigger than the ocean front rooms and I believe the outdoor seating area is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a wedding. Our rooms were very clean and the mini fridge in the room was a great bonus. The staff was very helpful. We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

This is our second trip to this location. Our stay was split between two rooms on the same floor. My one complaint would be about the number of bugs that were in our room. These source seemed to be the baseboard heater vents but not sure. We did complain but can't be too sure that they did anything about it. The shower heads could be replaced.
On the plus side the jacuzzi was great after long hours at the beach. You cannot beat this place for the convenient location and beach access.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Needed a place on short notice too stay on business. They were accommodating in avery possible way. The room was clean and the beach was 20 steps away and good food and excellent shopping was a short walk. As soon as I can afford it the family and I will be going!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel

Address: 119 East 9th Street, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Hotel Ship Bottom
Drifting Sands Hotel
Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drifting Sands Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.