We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local seafood and much more in quaint little restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Bottom Shellfish

Ship Bottom Shellfish
1721 Long Beach Boulevard, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
(609) 494-0088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
sparta, nj
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great local seafood and much more in quaint little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Nothing fancy but the food is terrific. About 15 tables/booths with nautical motif. Attached to seafood market. Even for weekday lunch we waited 30 minutes.....but worth the wait! Had local sea scallops with two sides at market price $27.99. Got cole slaw and onion rings (3). Kinda wish I had selected fries after seeing chunky fries with skin on.
Next time. Daughter had garlic clams $9.99. And side Caesar salad with homemade Caesar dressing. Yum. Son had six raw clams and bucket of mussels. More than three dozen at $9.99. Many choices. Everything was really good and fresh. Will go back. Best of all they take credit cards : )

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous clams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

The clams in wine and garlic were outrageously good. The fish is fresh and well-prepared. We waited almost an hour but the clams made it worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

The food here ranks in the top ten on my list .It is a small restaurant but very nice . They accomadate children .They also sell fresh fish in the same building. The service was excellent and quick . My wife loved the lobster roll . I had N.E. Clam Chowder that was great I also had the Garlic Clams with jumbo lump crab meat ...also excellent . I also enjoyed the blackened scallops ! I almost always find that if the cole slaw is good ...then someone is paying attention to all the food. So many places view the side dish as just an add on ...not here ..it was delicious . We would definitely go back .Parking lot is very small but street parking worked for us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton Junction, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Best Fish on Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

This place is take out and casual restaurant. They owe several restaurants on the island. However, I have NEVER had a better meal than at the restaurant Last week bought swordfisdh and bought it home. It was moist and so tasty. Coleslaw is good too....can not go wrong.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Predicitably good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We usually stop here for take out, the fish is fresh and there is a nice variety. We have eaten both lunch and dinner here as well, it's a little noisy but the food is well prepared and the service is quick. Nice for a family.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Bottom Shellfish also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Ship Bottom Shellfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Bottom Shellfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.