We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fresh Fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ship Bottom Shellfish

Ship Bottom Shellfish
1721 Long Beach Boulevard, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ 08008
(609) 494-0088
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 35 Restaurants in Ship Bottom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Northern New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good Fresh Fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This restaurant is probably one of the better Island restaurants. (LBI isn't known for great food) My husband had the baked seafood platter and the crab cake was the best item. It also included three shrimp, three scallops and some small nuggets of tuna. I had a baked fish sandwich but next time I will stick with the fried, as the bun was not toased an a little soggy from the fish. We only eat here at off hours since its a very busy place.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    35
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A bit of a wait, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is our 2nd year coming to LBI, and both times we have made sure to stop at Ship Bottom. It's a bit pricey compared to some other options on the island, but it's well worth it. If you come during key dinner hours, expect a wait, but it moves quickly. We were told that we would have a 2 hour wait, but we only waited about an hour. The restaurant is BYOB and they provide glasses and ice buckets, so you can bring your own wine and enjoy it on their front porch while you're waiting. If we go back next year we will definitely be stopping here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best crab cakes ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The restaurant is very small, so getting seated at times is tough but take out is available.
The first night we foolishly thought we could get a table at 7 p.m. There was a 45-60 minute wait. Too long a wait with two tired 10-year-old girls. The food is so good, we opted for takeout.
The next day, we decided to try again before leaving the island. Got seated with no problem at 4 p.m.!
Everyone who had tasted my two, huge, broiled crab cakes the night before ordered a dish that included them. The crab cakes were simply the best we had ever eaten, and we've tried crab cakes all over the mid Atlantic states.
That second night I opted for the shrimp and crab pasta with asparagus. While they skimped on the asparagus, the shrimp and crab were plentiful. This dish was absolutely delicious, especially with just a dash of grated Parm added!
My 10-year-old daughter, who has the palate of an adult, loved her 2 broiled crab cakes, and my husband enjoyed the broiled sampler. 10-year-old number two has the palate of a 3 year old, and enjoyed her buttered pasta.
Bottom line: the food is wonderful, but be prepared to wait if you arrive during the dinner hour.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

What delicious meal! You will be waiting for a little while- just BYOB and relax during the wait. Garlic clams are to die for and the salmon was perfect. Perfect experience!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Haven, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“They forgot to put in our lunch order!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We wanted to try this place for lunch one afternoon in July. After waiting about 10 minutes for a table to open up we were finally seated. Our waitress took our drink and meal order and we snacked on the oyster crackers available on each table. After about 25 minutes, we realized people who had been seated several minutes after us were nearly finished with their meals. We finally flagged down our server and were told that our order was somehow never placed with the kitchen. No manager was available so we left the restaurant. Obviously we cannot comment on the food but the service was not good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ship Bottom Shellfish also viewed

Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 
Beach Haven, Long Beach Island
Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island
 

Been to Ship Bottom Shellfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ship Bottom Shellfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.