We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful stay:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Motel
Save
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
1202 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Kearny, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed at the Islander hotel again. Our second stay here and it was excellent! We stayed in a room on the second floor which had a full size refrigerator and a stove. The bed was extremely comfortable and big. It had a nice size bathroom with plenty of hot water. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated. We had a big screen TV and very comfortable chairs to sit in. The place is extremely clean. The women that clean are really good and very pleasant. We were close to the beach and close to many great places to eat. The owners are two of the nicest people you will ever meet. They are very pleasant and helpful. We can not wait to go back. If your going to LBI then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I went on a three day trip and loved it!!! The place was extremely clean and nicely decorated! Joe actually upgraded our room because I had added an extra night. The bed was the most comfortable I have ever slept in for a hotel. Joe is the nicest person, very helpful in recommending places to try, restaurants, etc. He couldn't have been more helpful. We have been going to LBI for 20 years, and this is the first time we tried The Islander, and it won't be our last!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Many years ago this was the place to hang out regardless if we stayed overnight or not, later on my family and I moved too far so I never got the chance to return to this hotel. This summer we came back and what incredible surprise was to completely renovated/updated and it is super clean. Our room was simply fantastic and the service is very good. If you are planing to visit Long Beach Island in NJ make sure to check this hotel as soon as you can because this hotel books quickly during during the summer season.

Room Tip: Any room will be a great experience. I stayed on the bottom floor and it was simply convenience so n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend and we loved it. Joe & Anne are very nice and extremely helpful. . . they know who, what, and where so if you stay here ask them what to do and where to eat. We will visit again.

The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and comfortable. The fridge, microwave and dishes were also great to have for leftovers. It was like home away from home.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Even though we had no chance to stay overnight, because there were no rooms left, Joe gave us good advice where to go and saved us from a long ride back to NYC! Thanks Joe, we made it and we´ll be back for a stay and not just pass by :)!
Have a great summer!
Berit from Frankfurt/Germany

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is our second stay at Islander and my second review. We stayed here 3 years ago and loved it but now I cannot find the right words to describe what Joe did with the place. Completely renovated, everything is new, beautiful and spotless. The beds are very comfy, they have a big flat Tv, a nice size fridge and a Keurig coffee maker. The bathroom is very nice and spotless. There is also an outside shower and a playground area. Free wifi. And the silence! We are from the Bronx (which will never get an award for the quietest place in the world) and last night my husband said oh my God is so quiet here, Im getting scared :). Good value and great location, coming to LBI and not considering this motel would be a sin! It's exactly what you need to make your vacation perfect. Thanks Joe and Anne, you are the best and possibly the nicest people we ever met.

Room Tip: Don't even bother to choose a certain room. They are all amazing. Get the first floor if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Darker curtains!!! The lights outside the room were so bright, hard to fall asleep. Other then that... GREAT PRICE, GREAT LOCATION AND WONDERFUL OWNERS!! I found a review of the hotel on google and I called and they were just as lovely as they said. We called to stay again but they were full and no wonder, they are so awesome!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 1202 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Islander Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.