We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ship Bottom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Islander Motel
Save
You added The Islander Motel to your Saves list
1202 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed at The Islander for 3 days and it was a wonderful experience. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. It's on a quiet street yet very close to everything you would want or need. The beach is only a short walking distance. The room was much bigger than we expected. Everything was new. The room had a small fridge with microwave and a keurig coffee maker with coffee. Had the feeling of being safe and at home. Definitely plan on going back. Great weekend!! Thanks Joe & Anne

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
28
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at the Islander for 2 days this past weekend. the room was up to date, clean and had plenty of the necessary travel comforts. There was a full size fridge, stove, microwave and Keurig coffee machine. The kids enjoyed the full size basketball goal with rebounding net, and there were plenty of fully pumped basketballs, soccer balls, and beach toys available. Joe and Anne go out of their way to make you feel at home, with great conversation, and helpful recommendations for local restaurants. I'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at The Islander for two weeks in May- the room was spacious, super clean, and had all new furnishings. The beds were very comfy and the bathroom was spotless and really big! The room had a big flatscreen tv, good size refrigerator with a freezer, good storage, and even a keurig. It has everything you need! Also, the location is perfect! It is close to the beach and you can walk to everything. The owners are great people too! Anything you need they take care of right away. It really was a pleasure staying here- I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice and charming stay on Long Beach Island.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We just stayed at the Islander over Memorial Day weekend and were very happy. We stayed in one of the downstairs rooms with our two young kids and the room worked out very well. It seemed brand new and was not musty at all. The most significant thing is that Joe the owner introduced us to a babysitter, a family friend, and so we got to go out to an adult dinner. It was really above and beyond.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Lake, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This was our second stay at the Islander and it doesn't disappoint. The rooms are immaculate. We stayed in a King room, which was complete with nice size refrigerator (not "dorm" sized), microwave and keurig coffee maker! Joe and his wife Anne are wonderful and go out if their way to make you comfortable. I look forward to going back again. I rated it a four on location because the only way the Islander could be any better is if it were beachfront.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We stayed at this motel for four days this week (last minute booking) and couldn't have made a better choice! The completely renovated decor was lovely and it was perfectly clean throughout. We had an efficiency room with a great little kitchen, comfortable bed with seating area and spotless bath. The owners, Joe and Anne are so warm and friendly and go out of their way to make you feel at home at all times. That is a rarity in this day and age. Location is so convenient for beach or bay. Many restaurants and shops within walking distance. But the thing that is amazing is that for all this, you also get an extremely reasonable price. This motel is an example that all other motels/hotels down the Jersey shore should follow. A+ Joe and Anne! Thank you.
Note: If you call for a reservation and you get the answering machine, just leave a message. Joe will call you back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We recently spent a few days at the Islander in Ship Bottom. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and clean and the decor was very pleasant. The owner Joe is wonderful and very accomodating. The prices are reasonable and we can't wait to return! Bernadette & Ronnie

Room Tip: Best hotel on LBI!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Islander Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Islander Motel

Address: 1202 Central Avenue, Ship Bottom, Long Beach Island, NJ
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Long Beach Island > Ship Bottom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Ship Bottom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Islander Motel Long Beach Island, NJ - Ship Bottom

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.