We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BAR MEALS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kincaid House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kincaid House Hotel to your Saves list
Kincaid House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Birdston Road, near Kirkintilloch, Milton of Campsie G66 8BZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“BAR MEALS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I visited Kincaid House last night for a bite to eat, we have been a couple of times before and we will definately be visiting more often. Friendly and efficient service and the food was delicious, I had fish and chips but the batter the fish was done in was so different to any other fish and chips I have tasted and my husband also had a fish dish which was also delicious and very well presented. Nice relaxed atmosphere and reasonable prices.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    16
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
20
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Had lunch here with friends. Husband realised he was being charged twice for his lunch. He mentioned this to the waitress who assured him she was right.
We phoned when we got home and had checked the prices, initially helpful chap phoned back later to say the till tallied and it wasn't their problem!
How hard would it have been to accept what we said rather than set out to try and prove us wrong?
Not happy and after reading other reviews I see I'm not alone.
Wont be back :(

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KincaidHouse, Owner at Kincaid House Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
You’re a bit sparing with the detail here.

You didn’t stay in the hotel, you were with a party of around 13 cyclists and support who use us on a fairly regular basis as a pit stop – nice people and I’ve offered sandwiches on the house before. The party had a bite to eat with a single order of starters/snacks/mains being made. The bill of £118.05 (average price per head £9.08 including drinks) was paid in dribs and drabs.

Only one gentleman queried his element of the bill and this was rectified. You phoned 2/3 hours later with much the same query looking for a rebate. We did a double check of the bill and monies received and found no discrepancies or overage and phoned back to let you know, suggesting if you felt you had paid more than your share perhaps you take this up with your group.

This could have been avoided if the party had simply sorted the bill out amongst themselves.

Is it coincidence how, yet again, a refusal to hand out money willy-nilly prompts a poor review?

P.S. The money itself isn’t an issue – the entire bill has been donated to a local children’s hospital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Exterior shots look nice. Unfortunately that's just about where it ends. The hotel interior is run down in all public areas that we saw. The welcome was good. The standards of cleanliness in the room and bathroom were poor (Room 7). The carpets were stained,the remote control was dirty the bed was uncomfortable (although the sheets were ok). The bathroom had black mould around the bath, the tumbler at the sink was wiped clean but still had lipstick on it. We complained and to be honest the complaint fell on deaf ears. The manager was not apologetic and did nothing to fix the problem. The breakfast was substandard (cheap ingredients) and swimming in grease. There is no way the room should be sold to a paying guest until the dirty tiles/black mould are cleaned and the carpet in the bedroom is replaced. No wifi (which was advertised as available in all rooms) or mobile phone signal. Very disappointing more so in the way the manager handled us in the morning (we asked to be moved soon after check in so they knew we were not happy with the room) - it was your opportunity to fix things not make us feel more uncomfortable at breakfast by being ignorant and abrupt when you 'served' us.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KincaidHouse, Owner at Kincaid House Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
You stayed with us on 11th September with your wife who posted her review under the pseudonym of scotlady101 on 14th September. Your profiles show a history of double hitting reviews.

No doubt TripAdvisor readers welcome worthwhile, erudite comments. But any duplication - is this not superfluous?

We did acknowledge an issue with grouting which is currently being addressed, but whilst your wife’s review has its positive points, yours crosses a line. To hide behind a pseudonym on a public forum and call the female member of staff you spoke to in the morning (she isn’t the manager and your breakfast was served by a waiter) ‘ignorant and abrupt’ is not only cowardly but abusive and upsetting to the staff member in question.

In current usage, ‘ignorant’ is a derogatory term and as a senior contributor to TripAdvisor you should realise the language you use in your reviews affects those people involved in the workplace – no other industry would tolerate it. If those comments had been made face-to-face, you would quite rightly have been ejected from the premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband booked a last minute nights stay, as we had to attend a family funeral in Glasgow.
We arrived after 7pm after a long drive and were ready to relax and have some dinner.

We checked in, the girl was very nice and was covering the Bar and Reception. When we reached our room, we were disappointed in the general cleanliness of the room but most especially the bathroom. The tiles and grouting were covered
in black mould, the tumbler at the sink was dirty, with remnants of waxy lipstick and sticky fingers. The bath plug hole still had a grubby piece of plastic lying on top and they white (grey) net curtains had a dead squished insect in the fold.

The room itself was dusty, the beside cabinets and lamps especially so. The good news was that the bed linen was crisp and clean and the bed was well made.

We headed to the bar, ordered a couple of drinks then asked if there was any chance of another room. Unfortunately no other rooms were available. We had found it difficult to get a room in the area, so decided that we had to stay but we would go out for dinner. The bar person/receptionist said she would leave a note on the Managers desk, to let her know we were unhappy.

In the morning, we headed to breakfast after bring wakened by footsteps which seemed to be walking miles... The noise penetrated through the walls. We thought it was another guest but realised at breakfast, we were hearing the footsteps of the staff walking through the restaurant/ bar area to the kitchen. It sounded like someone was wearing tap shoes!

The breakfast buffet was poor, what appeared to be packet Danish and crossaints, poor quality fruit and small selection of cereals. The cooked breakfast was one of the worst I have had, cheap, fatty, greasy bacon and poached egg with an almost raw tomato. The whole plate was swimming with grease. I couldn't eat it.

Our breakfast order was taken by the Manageress, although she didn't introduce herself until we were leaving the breakfast room. She was dressed in casual clothes, wearing cowboy type boots. Very unprofessional appearance and not what I'd expect of someone working in a country house hotel.

As mentioned, the Manageress spoke to us as we were leaving, she seemed uninterested and seemed to have a knowledge and acceptance that the room was not up to standard. It was an easy fix and a sure sign that cleaning standards are not as you would expect. There was no apology offered or any solution as to how they could leave us feeling as though we were listened to and a valued guest.

This could be fabulous... For weddings, family get togetherness.... But it needs a lot of work and time invested.
Would I return.... Sadly, No!

Please listen, it's easy fixes, but it needs care, attention and management... Sadly lacking at the moment.
Good Luck!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

My wife and myself use the Kincaid as our local and I have never thought about doing a review. We have been going there for years and the place is great with both the food and standard of service being top notch. We tend to visit the bar on most occasions and the atmosphere is always good. If you are in Milton Of Campsie pay it a visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

On my first trip to Scotland, I stayed at Kincaid House for 2 days and it was really lovely. My room was very nice, the restaurant had great food, and the staff was very nice. It is a great place to stay at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I took my parents to the Kincaid House Hotel for a meal. We have been going to the Kincaid for a number of years for meals now as both my parents like eating in there restaurant. I have got to say its been the best meal that I have eating in a long time. I couldn't fault the food that we ordered from the starters ,main course's and finally the deserts. We all had steaks and to be honest they were cooked to perfection I couldn't fault the staff, food and the prices were great considering there was four adults eating out.

Room Tip: sleep quality is NA wouldn't let me change it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kincaid House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kincaid House Hotel

Address: Birdston Road, near Kirkintilloch, Milton of Campsie G66 8BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Dunbartonshire > Milton of Campsie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milton of Campsie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kincaid House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Kincaid House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kincaid House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.