We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surviving Irene at The Hyatt Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   575 Park Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Surviving Irene at The Hyatt Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

I stayed at The Hyatt Place from August 25 to September 02, 2011 while we were playing a hockey tournament in Hackensack, N.J.. First of all, I would like to thank general manager Chris Lambo who made it very easy to book a block of rooms for our hockey team with a great rate.

Secondly, the staff was great dealing with hurricane Irene. Their communication was excellent to advise us of what to expect when the hurricane hit the area. They made sure safety of the guests was first and for example disabled the elevators while the storm was passing. Since all of the restaurants in the area were closed for a period over 24 hours, we ate at The Hyatt Place. Their food and selection was surprising good.

Location

The location is great close to many different restaurants (i.e. Red Lobster, Chilli's, Cheeseburger in Paradise, Outback Steakhouse, Starbucks, etc.) and a mall and movie theatre at a walking distance. A Walmart is also very closeby. The #320 bus stops right in front of the hotel and takes you to Manhattan (Port Authority Station in Times Square) in 15 minutes. It costs $8 for a return trip. The only minor problem is that the last bus returning to New Jersey leaves at 0100 am, so if you are planning to have a late evening, taxi will be the only option. If you plan to rent a car, the parking is free at the hotel. Or else, you can use the hotel shuttle for close rides (within 5 miles of the hotel).

Rooms

The rooms are very spacious with a nice sitting area. There is a mini-fridge, a safe and coffee maker. A large flat screen TV on a swivel makes it easy to watch the TV from the bed or the sofa. There is a free wireless connection in the room.

Amenities

There is a free continental breakfast from 0630 to 0930 hours with a decent selection of muffins, fruits, toast//bagel and cereals. Also, the hotel can provide a hot meal at a cost. The lobby/bar area is small but very efficient. The gym has good cardio equipment but a small universal weight machine. However, there is a L.A. Fitness very closeby for the hardcore athletes! The only drawback for this hotel is that there is no pool and no hottub which would have been very beneficial to some of our guys after our hockey games. There are 2 computers with internet access and printer available in the lobby area.

Thank you to all the staff for making our stay in the New York area enjoyable despite hurricane Irene!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    156
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
143
91
12
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, ON, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My family arrived 2 days before Hurricane Irene did, and were immediately offered a refund/credit if we wanted to leave early to avoid the brunt of the storm. We opted to stay. The Guest Hosts and Front Desk Supervisor Patrick Kang are helpful and attentive even under the most stressful of circumstances. The hotel was understandably short-staffed on the day of the hurricane, but they did their best to keep their guests infomed and comfortable, and I appreciate their efforts. Our room on the sixth floor was a bachelor type suite with a king sized bed and a sitting area with a sectional with a pull-out bed. There is sink and fridge, but no microwave. The Hyatt Place is a more economical alternative to staying in Manhattan if you don't mind the 20-30 minute NJ bus ride to the Port Authority Bus Terminal on the other side of the river. Bus fare is $3.95 one-way. The front desk will gladly provide you with the fare/schedule. The connected 3-story parking structure is a plus especially in times of challenging weather.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Hello OakOnResident,

We thank you for the review and are glad you enjoyed your stay. We were very lucky the Hurricane did not cause any damage and all our guests stayed safe! I will tell Patrick the kind words you wrote, he is one of our lead hosts and is doing a great job. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

we took two beds room. the room was very big and comftable and very very clean!
the complimintary breakfast is ok . the bus to NYC stops at the hotel's door and is a recomended way to get to the city and back. we found it hard to find the hotel while we drove (enen though we had directions). the staff are very friendly and helpfull. and Wallmart is down the rode.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello Yifat,

We appreciate the review and glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you next time should you be returning to the area. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We just got back from our vacation to New York City. We stayed at the Hyatt Place in Secaucus because it was recommended by a friend and the Trip Advisor rated it as #1. We thought the price was a little high but I was willing to pay a bit more based on the recommendation.
When we arrived by car, the check-in was easy. We had no problem finding the hotel. They asked what we were planning to do in the area and offered information on busing to the city. It would have been nice to have had suggestions of things to do that first night. Another family we talk to said they took a train to Hoboken and seen Buddy's store. We checked in around 4:30 and were looking for things to do and didn't even know we were that close! We checked in and went back to the lobby to get a time table for the bus to and from the city for the next morning. The bus stop is just across the street and came about every 20 minutes. It took us about 20 minutes to get to the Port Authority in New York City which is only a few blocks from Times Square. The hotel offered us a shuttle to the Walmart and area stores but we took our own car so we can shop around. There are restaurants all in walking distance. They provided a booklet with a map that showed us where everything was located in the immediate vacinity. Maybe provide information of things to do beyond that little area! I also could have asked!
The lobby was clean but pretty tiny. There is no pool. The continental breakfast provided everything we needed. The only hot item included in this breakfast was toasted bagels or toast. They had fruit, yogurt, mini muffins, oatmeal and cereal as well. There was coffee/tea, orange and apple juice and milk as well. Having breakfast for 3 mornings, we had enough of a variety but if we were to stay longer, it would be nice to have waffles which most continental hotels we've stayed at has. Seating was never an issue but a lot of people were taking food to eat at tables in the lobby right where people check in. They did open another room for more seating. My opinion is lose the tables in the lobby and have couch seating and utilize the extra room instead of having people eat where new people are checking in or getting information. It looks unprofessional in my option but not a big deal as a customer but being in the tourism industry, I noticed how much it looked cluttered and screamed lack of space.
Our room was above average. We had only 2 adults, 1 teen and 1 kid and we had tons of space! There was a large couch which I think pulls out if need be. There is a large TV which swivels to the bed area to the livingroom area. There's a desk, small fridge, coffee machine and safe. The sink for the washroom is located outside the toilet/tub area which some poeple don't like but I do! My husband was showering while me and the kids could brush our teeth, etc. The beds were very very comfortable and had lots of pillows for everyone.
I think the hotel is above good. It has an amazing location and good rooms. I haven't stayed in the other hotels in the area but would guess this hotel could be priced based on its Trip Advisor Ratings and location to the city and shopping/restaurants not because it provides anything over and above the other area hotels. It was a good stay with nothing bad to say about the hotel and I would stay there again only because I would know what to expect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello Angelwinks,

We appreciate the review and the feedback. The very things you observed are being addressed and upgraded this winter. First, we are adding hot items to our already complimentary breakast. Also, we are expanding our lobby space to add additional seating during breakfast and in the evening to relax and hang out! We hope you can come back early next year to see the changes! Take care...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fancy Gap, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our stay at Hyatt Place was part of a week long family road trip through the Northeast. Since we were driving, we wanted to stay outside of New York City. After reading the reviews for NYC area hotels, we chose the Hyatt Place. The hotel was great! The staff was very helpful, parking was free, the continental breakfast was good and well stocked, and the hotel was very convenient to New York City. The room was large, clean, comfortable, and well decorated. If we make a return trip to NYC, we will definitely return to the Hyatt Place.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello WTH2011,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay while on your family trip! We hope to see you again if traveling to the area...thanks for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed here at the end of a 5 1/2 week road trip and were pretty sick of hotels but this was a great place. The hotel was clean, next to a range of restaurants, the bus to NY stops outside the door, the staff are friendly and really helpful; nothing was too much trouble and the rate was exceptional given NY hotel prices. I would stay there again any day. The hotel provides a free shuttle to nearby places, including picking us from the train from the airport. This is a hotel that understands that they are in the tourist industry - providing experiences; not just a bed for the night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello Travel Queen,

Wow that was a long road trip, we are glad you ended it with us and enjoyed your stay. Upon your next adventure we would love to see you again...thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Great stay at Hyatt Place. The area is safe, quiet, and suburban. The staff was helpful, the hotel shuttle was great, and the bus trip to New York's Port Authority was a pleasant drive in an air-conditioned bus ($8 round trip for adults and children over 11 years old). We took a taxi from JFK to Port Authority, then took #320 bus to the hotel and saved about $70 on transportation for the three of us. A pull out sofa is a major plus. As far as I know each room has one. The breakfast was fine and consisted of bread, bagels, yogurt, and fruit. The guests had an option to order eggs , hash browns, sausages for an additional charge. It was one enjoyable trip and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HPS201, Director of Sales at Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Hello Sandy,

We appreciate your review and thank you for the kind words. Our Hotel is great location when visiting NYC, so we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands

Address: 575 Park Plaza Drive, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
#5 Business Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Reservation Counter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.