We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for a brief stay, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion to your Saves list
Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Delmar, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Okay for a brief stay, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I debated between a rating of 2 and 3, but rounded up. Not sure if that was the right choice.
Negatives: The rooms were dated and the bottom of the bathroom door was peeling. There were hairs in our sink when we arrived. The ice machine on our floor was broken. One of the two elevators was broken the first night, resulting in very long waits and crowded elevators. Our room safe was closed and locked, so we couldn't use it unless we contacted someone to open it (which we didn't bother to do). One of the lamps in our room had a broken switch, so it could only be turned on and off by plugging or unplugging it. The clock was unplugged and the plug was caught under the nightstand, so I had to move the nightstand to get the plug, twist my body into some kind of a pretzel to get it plugged in behind the bed, then figure out how to set the time. There were not enough electrical outlets anywhere accessible in the room. The parking was an uncomfortably cold walk down two flights of stairs and past the front of the hotel, with no interior walkway from the garage. I would not have felt comfortable walking in by myself at night (although the front stairs in the garage were lighted - the back ones were not). The shower head was barely high enough for me and I'm only 5'4". The heavier curtains on the window did not close, so there was ambient light coming into the room all night.
Positives: The front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. The hot water from the tap heated up immediately - I loved that! The shower curtain was on a curved bar, keeping the curtain away from the person in the shower. There was a small refrigerator in the room. I appreciated the night light in the bathroom. My husband appreciated the free coffee in the morning. Cost was reasonable for the area.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    56
    36
    25
    16
See reviews for
49
40
10
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My group stayed here two nights for a dance competition held in the hotel ballroom.

We should have known we were in for an unpleasant experience when we found a lone green Skittle in plain sight on the bathroom floor upon check-in.

Despite our reporting the rogue candy to the front desk attendant, who assured us it would be cleaned the next day, the Skittle was never picked up. Makes me wonder what else was left on the floor.

Because my group flew into New Jersey and had no cars, we depended on the hotel for many of our meals. Mistake.

An on-site "Pizza Hut" was nothing more than heated up pre-made pizza. The people at PH should know they're using the name to sell an overpriced microwave-style pizza. The hotel Starbucks wasn't open on a busy Friday morning. A friend and I were also charged $8 for a glass of unchilled Sutter Home wine -- I could get two bottles for that much! And the "bouncer" guarding the $10 breakfast buffet certainly made us feel welcome as he watched us slurp down our scrambled eggs.

Despite the less-than-friendly food staff, the maids and front desk attendants were courteous.

The hotel has two elevators, one of which was out of service nearly an entire day of our visit. Wait times to catch a lift to the 12th floor were 15 and 20 minutes. And the TV, for whatever reason, was stuck on the home screen for the duration.

Some pros of the Empire Meadowlands included spacious rooms, a bar that was open late, and a location close to Newark airport.

But overall, this place was run down, mismanaged and, frankly, overpriced. I'd expect some of these things at a $40 a night place, but here you don't get what you pay for.

So what was the best part of our stay? When we found a liquor store within walking distance. Seriously.

If you can avoid this place, do it.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carver, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I wasn't sure about booking a place outside of NY but I didn't want to stay in the city. This turned out to be a good idea after all. We wanted to be close enough to the city so it would be a quick trip in. This worked out great

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We paid a low price for a room here and I guess you get what you pay for! Our room 1324, head in overpowering moldy odor. The drawer to the dresser was broken in the pieces were laying on the floor. In the morning the employees were out in the hall using a loud of noxious walkie-talkie. To bad because the room actually looked nice and there were some elegant details. The view of the city was very great. It was also clean.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I don't understand how this place is rated three stars? Stayed one night and will never return. Phone rang at 5:40 AM! Someone tried to open the door at 8 AM for service without even knocking. Rate was good but calling this place a three star is embarrassing. Rooms in desperate need of renovations, especially bathrooms.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

At first I was a bit hesitant due to reviews I was seeing but decided to give it a try anyways. Honestly it really was a nice place to stay and the cost was even better. The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous! The room was nice, spacious and clean. The view was phenomenal. Just a few cosmetic issues with paint etc, but they did have sign telling us they were currently redoing the hotel. I would definitely stay again!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014

We have stayed many times at this hotel when it was the Crowne Plaza. We will never stay here again. We asked about the shuttle to the train station and were told they don't do that anymore. The desk clerk then pointed to the taxi service they apparently recommend. The breakfast service was terrible and to quote the guys sitting near us at the "breakfast buffet" the service and buffet were "horrible" and as he said "they should be ashamed to have charged us $12 each". The hotel is very dated, not real clean and the staff not overly friendly at all. While my husband waited to purchase tickets at the front desk for the breakfast buffet, the hostess at the buffet would not even let me enter to check it out! Aside from that, a card in our room said they had an omelet station but when I inquired about it, the "cook" told me that it had not been running for months. Needless to say my $12 corn flakes with a banana on top was ok at best, certainly not what we expected. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion

Address: 2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the Manhattan feel without high prices? The Empire Meadowlands Hotel By Clarion& Exhibition Center a New York City Area Hotel provides that combination. Take advantage of our convenient location. Just 2.5 Miles from New York City and located less than 1/2 miles from Giants Stadium Meadowlands Sports Complex. 12 Miles from Newark Airport EWR, 16 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 23 miles from J.F.K. Airport also located in the heart of all Tax Free Designer Outlets and Shopping Malls. Offers Complimentary parking and High Speed Internet services, with easy access into New York City, in addition stop by our full service Rivercove Restaurant or Rivercove Lounge. As a business or leisure traveler you will consider our oversized sleeping rooms your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Reservation Counter, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secaucus Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.