We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion to your Saves list
Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Serviceable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Clearly, this property is int eh mdist of what must have been a sorely needed upgrade. The bar was open, but only two TVs of the group were operable. Service was slow and forgettable. The $12 "breakfast buffet" is to be avoided at all costs. Room itself was okay, but windows have not been washed in a long time. The thermostat could not have been fully functional. To be fair, I might revisit on my next trip to MetLife Stadium,, but it does not compare well to other nearby properties.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    52
    32
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
35
9
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a while to not only check in but to check out. Room was good. View was ok but could have been better if I could see out the windows. They were in need of a cleaning. Room temp was not good. They had the a/c turned off and even though it was in November, it was a little stuffy. Thermostat was at 68. Room never got below 74. Fan was the only thing running. Bar and restaurant were dead. After reading the reviews, I avoided them and went out. No free breakfast or at least none that I was informed of. The parking is not good. You are required to park in the parking garage on the top level about a block away. If you are carrying luggage, it's very difficult to navigate the extremely narrow stairs with bags. No elevators. If I can not get this room at an extremely discounted rate, I would not come back.

Room Tip: Unload bags at the front door and take them to your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel in bad shape. Twice given a room with occupants- one set "in bed".

Restaurant is dead and not clean. In fact the whole hotel is to be avoided. Nothing nearby. Stay somewhere else.

Seriously I can't stress this enough.

Nothing whatsoever redeeming. Even the staff knows how bad the hotel is.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Bethel, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were here just for getaway as a couple to go to city. Hotel location is very convenience to go shopping, restaurant, and even better close to NYC. We are happy with the service. The lobby staff are friendly and helpful. We can't wait to come back bring our kids for next trip to the city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensdorf, Zürich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very friendly welcome. Helpful personnel at front desk (Stephanie). Clean room.
Comfortable and fast public bus connection to Manhattan.
To improve: Offer for Transfer with luggage to New York Airports, reasonable fare would be accepted.
Peter, Switzerland

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernie M, General Manager at Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Mr Peter,

We thank you for your positive feedback reagarding our accomodations and staff, I will sure pass along your comments to Stephanie and our entire housekeeping staff, as they have a true commitment while providing high levels of cleanliness for the entire hotel

Once again, we thank you for your business and we look forward to be at your services during your next visit.

Best Regards,

Bernie Mendoza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erode, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

New York is notorious for being costly. Getting a decent room for a family, without burning your pockets with a deep hole, is almost impossible. Which was precisely the reason why we looked for options outside the city.
Empire Meadowlands is located in Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, New Jersey. At a 7 mile distance from the Times Square, it is located conveniently. It is well connected by the New Jersey transit service. A one way trip lasts just over 20 mins, and buses ply at least once an hour.
The hotel itself is located in a quiet surrounding. Rooms are decently sized. However, some essentials like microwave were sorely missed. Our room had a view of the New York skyline, which looked awesome, especially at nights. Beds were on the smaller side. Didn't look like queen size too.

For the price, the hotel is definite value for money.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunellen, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had an amazing time at this hotel. The service was excellent. Two thumbs up for the staffs that always helped us and gave their attention during the seminar. This is a great place to do an event. Thank you for having us at your hotel. We will see you soon.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion

Address: 2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the Manhattan feel without high prices? The Empire Meadowlands Hotel By Clarion& Exhibition Center a New York City Area Hotel provides that combination. Take advantage of our convenient location. Just 2.5 Miles from New York City and located less than 1/2 miles from Giants Stadium Meadowlands Sports Complex. 12 Miles from Newark Airport EWR, 16 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 23 miles from J.F.K. Airport also located in the heart of all Tax Free Designer Outlets and Shopping Malls. Offers Complimentary parking and High Speed Internet services, with easy access into New York City, in addition stop by our full service Rivercove Restaurant or Rivercove Lounge. As a business or leisure traveler you will consider our oversized sleeping rooms your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secaucus Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.