We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms infested with bed bugs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion

Save Saved
You added Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 15 hotels in Secaucus
1 review
“Rooms infested with bed bugs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My family and friends and I stayed at this hotel before and after our cruise trip. We were just looking for some place affordable and comfortable, the hotel seemed decent considering the lower price in comparison to other hotels located a short distance from Manhattan. My first stay there before I left for my trip was pleasant, however the guy with glasses at front desk was quite rude. We had requested to change to non-smoking rooms when discovering that we had mistakenly booked smoking rooms. He was hesitant to change the rooms stating that he was unable to make the switch, and later finally changed our rooms after we explained that our kids could not stay in those rooms with a thick scent of smoke. This hotel was great considering the low price, and we were thinking that we would definitely considering coming back to this hotel next time we were in visiting New York. However, after my second stay after my trip, both of the rooms that my friends and my family stayed in last week, were infested with bed bugs. All of us woke up with red spots lined up on our bodies. We scoured the beds and found multiple bugs in the bed sheets. We cleaned every corner of our luggages, clothing, bags, etc. because we were afraid of letting those critters into our home as soon as we got home.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    35
    28
    16
    11
See reviews for
36
25
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here overnight after attending a concert at Metlife stadium. Few minutes driving distance. The hotel interior and rooms look very old. Although, our room was clean. The beds were comfortable. We had booked a king bed but they gave us double queen. Free wifi and parking. But the front desk staff were not friendly at all. Ok for the price if you are going for an event at the stadium and need a place to crash overnight.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here Sunday night after the Eminem and Rihanna concert at the MetLife stadium. It's super close to the stadium. They have a nice sized free parkade that seemed pretty safe to park.

You must request a skyline view if you stay here. It was beautiful!

The room was clean and a decent size. The bathroom was a bit small, but was clean. There was a safe in the room.

We didn't swim in the pool, but the pool area was very clean and nice looking. There's also a field behind the hotel to throw the frisbee around or play other outdoor games.

There is a bus that runs every hour to NYC. I'm not sure of the cost, but the taxis wanted close to $100 just to get to the city.

All around this was a great place to stay and I'd stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was massive, the views from the 12th floor that we were on were fantastic - you could see NY skyline! It was clean and spacious, the bathroom was very nice too, so in general it's a good place to stay the night before your visit to NY, but it's not convenient to stay during your visit in NY, because the commute would be too long. We only stayed there because we arrived from Niagara Falls 12 hours earlier than planned in the middle of the night and couldn't find a cheap hotel in NY itself, so we decided to stay at this hotel for one night and then get to the original hotel in NY prebooked earlier. Disadvantages - room service food is not nice, don't bother ($50 for two for something we didn't enjoy). Breakfast is usually $12 per person. Staff don't smile in typical NY fashion.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the top floors facing east - you'll enjoy the views. The rooms on the lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westover
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel rooms themselves was fine. The lobby smelled horrible. The staff wasn't that friendly. We stayed because we were going to a concert at metlife stadium. They hotel said they had a shuttle for $10 a person to the stadium and back. We took the shuttle there no problem. After the concert we tried to contact the hotel, which we had to call 4 or 5 times because no one would answer, about the shuttle. They told us that they wouldn't let their shuttle in to come get us for us to take the train to a certain stop and they would pick us up there or to take a cab. Well all the cabs wanted $60+ for a 5 mile drive. I am not from the area so I had no clue about the trains and the stops. Luckily the train was free to the stop they told us to go to. We get out and go to where the taxi's and other shuttles were. Waited for 30 minutes and called the hotel. We tried many times to get a hold of them and they wouldn't answer until we hit reservations line. They then told us it should be there and we said it wasn't and have been waiting over 30 minutes, the guy was rude on the phone and told us to take a cab and hung up on us. Do not offer a shuttle and then all of a sudden not. Our phones died after that call and we sat there another 30-40 minutes to get a cab. It took us well over 2 hours to get back when it should have been 15 at the most. I will never stay here again. Don't stay here unless you know the area really well and cant get around yourself or don't mind spending a lot on a cab.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed in Secaucus NJ at the Empire Meadowlands Hotel. Hotel was clean and comfortable with ample free parking. The best thing was a NJ transit bus on the corner every hour for a $3.20 bus ride (20 Minutes) to the New York Port Authority bus station on 42nd and 8th street. Runs until midnight coming back. It was a great way to visit NYC without the high prices of hotels in Manhattan.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Manhattan, Many rooms overlooking the water with a view of the Manhattan skyline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here. The service was terrific! We had a concern, which they took care of and then gave us coupons for breakfast. Also, when we returned the next day, a platter of fresh fruit awaited us! We enjoyed talking to the friendly staff at the coffee stand in the lobby (They serve Starbucks). The front desk gave us a photocopy of the bus schedule, so it was easy to get to the city and back. Some buses are faster than others. Try to catch the express, which makes fewer stops. The bus stop is just a few minutes walk from the hotel entrance. The room was spacious and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was nice, although it's an older building, and some things are a little dated. The view isn't great, but it's New Jersey. The hotel was just 17 min from the airport in our rental car. We were happy that the hotel had free parking, and the room rate was excellent for the area. The breakfast was just OK. If it doesn't come with your room rate, I wouldn't spend the $12 per person for it. The dinner we had at the restaurant was very good. Computers are in the lobby. Internet is free, but at times it is very slow (probably depending on how many guests are logged in.) We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion

Address: 2 Harmon Plaza, Secaucus, NJ 07094 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Secaucus - Meadowlands)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Secaucus
#8 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for the Manhattan feel without high prices? The Crowne Plaza Hotel & Exhibition Center provides that combination. Take advantage of our convenient location. Just 4 miles from New York City and located less than 2 miles from Giants Stadium Meadowlands Sports Complex. 12 miles from Newark Airport EWR, 16 miles from LaGuardia Airport and 23 miles from J.F.K. Airport also located in the heart of all Tax Free Designer Outlets and Shopping Malls. After a vigorous workout in our Fitness Center, visit our CP's Corner Café proudly brewing the best of Starbucks Coffee and serving light fare or stop by our full service Rivercove Restaurant or Rivercove Lounge. As a business or leisure traveler you will consider our oversized sleeping rooms your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secaucus Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Empire Meadowlands Hotel by Clarion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.