We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternative NYC hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands River Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Meadowlands River Inn to your Saves list
Meadowlands River Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Secaucus
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 113 cities Reviews in 113 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
“Good alternative NYC hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

RECOMMENDED: Check-in efficient and friendly. Hotel is in general good working order. Request room facing front for quiet. Hotel is popular with bus tour groups. Room was clean, bathroom is not fancy, but in good order and well illuminated. Bedding was OK (bit too springy). Breakfast next day was nice continental. NYT Bus 320 to NYC is almost across the street for 15 min ride to mid-town. Numerous chain restaurants walking distance from hotel. Nothing negative to report.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    142
    41
    11
    8
See reviews for
166
89
11
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal,Quebec
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

We have just returned from visiting NYC for the first time and we stayed at the Hampton Inn. We had booked an apartment we had found on the VRBO website but we were very disappointed when we saw it. Thankfully we had not given a deposit , so we left in search of a hotel. We chose the Hampton ,in Secaucus ,and we could not be more pleased with our choice. The service at the front desk was perfect. They were pleasant, kind, informative and always helpful. Andrea even called our room to ask if we were pleased with it , and to see if we needed anything else. The location is great. The bus across the street gets you to the subway system in no time. One morning we left quite early, during morning rush hour, and we bypassed all the traffic because we were traveling in the bus lane. We got there in 15 minutes. We never had to wait long for a bus.The area is clean and safe and there are all kinds of eateries within walking distance of the Hampton. The front desk provides you with a map of the immediate area, pointing out the eateries, bus stop and other points of interest.The Breakfast Bags to Go were really appreciated. The parking is free so we saved a bundle there. We got good value for our money.We will most definitely stay there the next time we visit NYC.
Ted ( Montreal Quebec)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for a week in November. We had just gotten married and wanted to visit New York, but we wanted to pay a reasonable hotel rate. This hotel was perfect for our purposes. It was just across the street from the bus stop which took us right to Times Square, and the staff was helpful with directions and arranging transportation. Possibly because of the time of year, we had no trouble waiting for buses - they were on time and always had room for us. Our room was large, and both the room and bathroom were very clean. We enjoyed having restaurants close by as well. The only things we missed were room service and a pool - but we knew these things when we booked the hotel (also: there are restaurants in the area that will deliver to the hotel, so not having room service wasn't too much of a hardship). Overall we had a wonderful trip and were very happy with our stay at this hotel.
P.S. We booked directly with Hampton Inn and found the phone customer service personnel were excellent. Very friendly, even when I called to confirm the booking just before we left.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2008

We just returned from a 2 night stay here during our family holiday New York City trip. We have stayed at a numerous Hampton Inns in the past and have always had good experiences. But his hotel was definitely the worst Hampton Inn we have encountered. Not all was bad, however, so I will give the pros and cons during our stay.

Pros- the location is safe and convenient if you are going into NYC. The bus stop is right across the street and the area is safe with several other hotels there as well. The bus (320) runs very regularly ($ 6 and change round trip) and the Port Authority where you are dropped off in NYC is just a block or two from Times Square. This is a popular bus, though, so twice we had to wait for a second bus coming out of NY. Several restaurants are close by as well. The hotel was also very clean and we didn't have any housekeeping issues.

Cons - the beds were terrible - the mattresses were cheap and hard. I have never encountered this before at a HI so I was very disappointed and my back hurt. The all white bedding (whose idea is that anyway?) was very slippery and it kept slipping off the beds. The breakfast buffet was very limited and it was mobbed. Again, much more disappointing than other HI we have stayed at. The front desk staff were unhelpful and not very responsive (but not rude).

Overall, I would be hard pressed to recommend this place. There are several other hotels right down that street which use the same bus that I will look into in the future.

  • Liked — Convienient
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2008

We just returned home from a 3 day/2night stay at the Hampton Inn, and I'm happy to say we were so pleased with the accommodations! I had stayed downtown New York around Times Square the last visit, but we wanted to save some money, so we decided to take this route. I'm pleased to say we were all so satisfied with everything. We had 7 in our party, so we rented two rooms. From check in to check out, we were all satisfied. The desk clerk was so helpful with our questions concerning the bus downtown. That went very smoothy - just a short walk across the street and a hop on the bus takes you downtown New York just a few blocks from Times Square. and the bus ride was only about 10 to 15 minutes. The view going and coming was awesome, too! The rooms were very well kept and the beds were so comfortable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location, comfortable room, easy access to New York City
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford,Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Secaucus during our first visit to New York City.
We really liked that hotel and all the staff we encountered. The Hampton was very comfortable and clean and the price was good. The buses to downtown were convienient and frequent.
However, we booked the three nights with priceline at a total price of $753.39 US including taxes and service fees. That amount was billed to our credit card.
A month later the Hampton Inn charged another $619.56US for the same three nights.
Two issues: 1. We thought that the bill had been paid by Price Line ahead of time.
2. Priceline cost $130 more than the Hampton Inn price.
In future I'll be more careful when dealing with 'discount' services.
To their credit, the Hampton Inn had no hesitation in making arrangements to return the money they billed.

  • Liked — Clean and comfortable.
  • Disliked — Billing issue.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern MD
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

Usually stay Carlstadt for NYC trip, mostly because I'm not familiar with any other close-by NJ towns. But since my usual Carlstadt hotel was sold out, I searched for other places along the NJ trasit bus line. I'm so glad I decided on this place! Secaucus is a great area, and my younger sister (17) and I (21) felt absolutely safe walking to and from the bus stop at night. The bus stop for NYC is literally right across the street. Sidewalks are well lit, and the area is very nice. Tons of other surrounding hotels and restaurants. The staff was great, very polite and helpful. Clean rooms, nice breakfast.

I'm making this my new go-to hotel for future trips to NY.

  • Liked — Easy bus access, clean, safe
  • Disliked — A little pricey, but worth it!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
#2 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#2 Family Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.