We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay when visiting NYC.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Meadowlands River Inn

Save Saved
You added Meadowlands River Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meadowlands River Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Secaucus
Andover, MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay when visiting NYC.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I and my family stayed in this hotel during our recent visit to NYC. Rooms are clean and cozy. The stuff is very friendly and ultra knowledgeable about the city and surroundings.
The breakfast that is served every morning is delicious with plenty of options.

Bus stop is right across the street and it takes you to the Port Authority Bus Terminal in about 20-25 minutes (depends on traffic).

The area feels pretty safe and has lots of restaurant and shops literally on the walking distance from the hotel.

The bottom line if you can afford the room in the city, that's great, way to go no questions about it. But if not, this is for sure wonderful a lot more affordable alternative.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    120
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
144
72
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I travel to this hotel frequently. I have never had such warmth and care from a hotel staff. Jennifer is always there with a smile and friendly accomodation. She truly makes my schedule a lot more bearable. Thank you Jennifer and the rest of the front desk crew, along with the breakfast ladies. You do a wonderful job. M J Lantier

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This is my fourth time staying at this hotel, that alone should speak volumes. It is close to Downtown Manhattan and offers a bus stop across the street along with a mall. The Hotel Manager and staff are top rate.

Room Tip: I always ask for rooms on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed at the Meadowlands River in on Dec 7, 2014. The location was great as a bus stop direct to the city was across the street. Not real fancy (and currently no name on the hotel), but I would stay again when traveling to NYC. If you are looking for reasonable priced hotel with a great location, I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed there with my family, 6 adults for the Thanksgiving Weekend and the experience was superb. Front desk staff well knowledgeable and helpful special mentions to Cleve and Qenny (his real name slips me at present) there was also a young lady on front desk that my wife said was also very helpful. All maid staff greeted us with good mornings and good afternoons, our rooms were tidied to a decent level and were comfortable and the breakfast was suitable. Unfortunately, I have one gripe.....no signs on or to hotel...we are from the UK and struggled a bit to find it, but overall it did not spoil our experience.

Room Tip: 320 bus takes you into Manhattan Port Authority in less than 20 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It is a good thing that I had had two really good experiences staying in this area because given the past weekend's events, I might not return. First, the hotel is fine. I stayed there when it was a Hampton Inn. About two weeks before we arrived, we were informed that the hotel was no longer a Hampton but our reservations would be honored. There is no name on the hotel anywhere so if you go, pay attention to the address. Nothing in the hotel has changed other than the words "Hampton Inn" have been removed or covered. The friendly desk clerk informed us that the owner of the Hampton Inn franchise was in a dispute with Hilton and it may revert at some point to a Hampton again. The staff was the same, the bedding was the same, etc. Our room was spotless. I do have a couple minor complaints: the trim on our bathroom mirror had peeled off, the hallway carpets needed a vacuum and the same leaves were in the elevator during our entire stay. I love staying in this Secaucus hotel complex because of its easy access to NYC. Hop on the bus and your are at the Port Authority. We arrived at the bus stop at 5:20 PM planning on dinner before our 8 PM play. Dinner went by the wayside as traffic going into the Lincoln Tunnel was at a standstill. A 17 minute trip took 2 hours. We didn't get our dinner and were thankful we made the play on time since we had spent quite a bit on tickets. At the end of our evening in NYC, we easily hopped on the bus at the Port Authority. Unfortunately, a portion of the route was blocked due to construction and our driver didn't seem to know how to recover. His passengers are all tourists who have no idea where they are going. We are staying in a hotel with no name. The area all looks pretty much the same. Lots of confused passengers hopping off and back on and the driver had no clue. At one point he pulled into a Walmart parking lot and told a few passengers to climb over the parking lot guardrail because their hotel was "over there." I do recommend this area as an alternative to NYC prices but given my recent experience, allow plenty of time to get to your destination in NYC and pay attention to the location of your bus stop for the return trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback on your stay.

I am very glad to hear that you decided to still come and stay at Meadowlands River Inn.It’s always a pleasure for us to cater our regular guests. It is regrettable that your stay with us had a few issues mostly outside of the hotel. There were road construction due to two new restaurants opening in the vicinity, that shouldn't have made the bus riders face any difficulty by the bus driver. I am very sorry you had to face that situation. Thank you for your comments and We hope to welcome you once again in the near future.

Sincerely ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband & I stayed at this hotel as the hotels in New York/Manhattan were quite expensive. It's only about 6 miles from Manhattan and the NJ Transit bus stop directly across the street from the hotel takes you to the heart of Manhattan for about $4/one way or $8/round trip. We tried the public transportation (bus), the subway and taxis.

You could tell that the hotel was somewhat 'aged' and is in dire need of some upgrades, but overall, our stay was nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haresh R, Manager at Meadowlands River Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for posting your feedback from your visit at Meadowlands River Inn(Previously Hampton Inn).
We are saddened to see that your stay with us did not meet all your expectations. This is not the image we would like you to retain of your recent experience at our hotel.
Please note that we will share your comments to speed up our renovation plan for 2014.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back at Meadowlands River Inn.
Sincerely, Haresh R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Meadowlands River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowlands River Inn

Address: 250 Harmon Meadow Blvd, Secaucus, NJ 07094
Location: United States > New Jersey > Secaucus
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Business Hotel in Secaucus
#4 Romantic Hotel in Secaucus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Meadowlands River Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Meadowlands River Inn hotel is conveniently located across the street from the MeadowlandsExpositionCenter, near the New Jersey Turnpike and a few miles from the Meadowlands Sports Complex where you can catch your favorite professional sports teams. When you’re ready to explore the northeast region, our hotel guests enjoy the convenience of being near major corporations, shopping destinations, world class dining and Big Apple attractions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Meadowlands River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Secaucus-Meadowlands Hotel Secaucus
Secaucus Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meadowlands River Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.